HOUSTON – IV (2021)

HOUSTON - IV (2021) full

Swedish AOR band HOUSTON are back with new studio album, their fourth, aptly titled “Houston IV” produced under the direction of former member and AOR guru Ricky Delin, who also co-wrote with the band.
“It feels good to have Ricky back behind the wheel on this album. He is an incredible songwriter and we all know the great work he’s done on our previous albums. This will be the Houston album above all others,” says singer Hank Erix.“
“This album and the songs are one big homage to our favourite AOR heroes such as Survivor, Foreigner and Journey, but also influences from John O´Banion, Meatloaf, John Farnham, and many more. We wanted to make a great AOR album and make it big, fresh, and truly bombastic. And if you want to make a bombastic AOR album, Ricky Delin is the go to producer. Ricky, who played a big part in creating the Houston sound on our first albums, was as excited as us about the idea of working together again and jumped at the opportunity,” continues Carl.

Houston released their self-titled debut album in 2010 and landed at number one on Classic Rock Magazine’s AOR chart that year, beating out some stiff competition.
The band then went on to play the festival circuit with appearances at Sweden Rock, Download Festival (UK), and Rock of Ages (Germany), as well as touring the UK with Swedish sleaze rockers Crashdïet. Houston’s second album, “Relaunch” featured a cover song called ‘Runaway’ that became the soundtrack to Red Bull’s own Danny MacAskill’s Extreme BMX video ‘Imaginate’ which has almost 100 million views on YouTube and over 1.3 million plays on Spotify and counting.

“It feels great to be part of the Frontiers Music family, to work with a label that shares our taste in music and has the muscle to get it out to the masses. Needless to say, many (if not most) of our heros are signed to Frontiers so they are definitely doing something right. Houston and Frontiers deserve each other!”concludes Hank.

Fans can look forward to another classic AOR masterpiece from these Swedish masters with the release of “Houston IV”, their best and most complete album so far.


01 – She is the Night
02 – You’re Still The Woman
03 – Hero
04 – A Lifetime in a Moment
05 – Heartbreaker
06 – Storyteller
07 – Heart of a Warrior
08 – Until the Morning Comes
09 – I Will Not Give in to Despair
10 – Such is Love
11 – Into Thin Air

Hank Erix – Vocals
Carl Hammar – Guitars
Soufian Ma’Aoui – Bass
Richard Hamilton – Keyboards
Oscar Lundström – Drums

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Neil Tudor says:

    This album…. insane quality…….. the idea to make Hank sing a little lower…and raise it occasionally..has given him chops that sound at times very much like Jimi Jamieson….. I think they sussed this soundalike thing and ran with it and boy does it work…. songs are awesome from the get go… track 1..wow…shivers……. 80s majestic synth waves wash over while the bass pumps…… “She Is The Night” has EVERYTHING ….. and the album doesnt drop in quality.
    Production is pristine………. this should project them into AOR stratosphere..if it was 1985
    4 or 5 songs here could have been written by Jim Peterik for Jamison to sing…..yeah ok..one or two vocal licks are direct from “When Seconds Count” ..but thats a good thing trust me….
    The cd is on order….. this will NOT be away from my in car system……its permanent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.