JONO – Silence (2015)

JONO - Silence (2015) full


Two years ago I started the review of Swedes’ JONO first album with a sentence: ‘I am in ecstasy’. For this blog, that was, easily, the best debut of the year.
Forward 2015, JONO returns with “Silence“, their brand new album, and yes, I am in ecstasy again.

Jono’s music, vision and inspiration marry up the best of early Queen, Kansas and even Toto into a magical recipe that transcends any genre or classification. But if you want it, call it Pomp meets Progressive meets Melodic Rock perfection.
Since the start of the new album, Jono already set the bar very high with the terrific “Man of Misery”. Dynamic, articulated, plenty of nuances and a vocalist to die for.
But then we have 2nd track “Wasting Time” and it does not justify its title, believe me. If the opener was great, this is simply awesome. Jono is melodically perfect, but they go much more beyond with elastic instrumentation, superb arrangements and clinical performances.

JONO - Silence (2015) inside

“Can We Make It” and the extremely beautiful “Turn Around” is next in line, and top quality continues. Think like a mix of the rocking Queen, Supertramp, Saga, ACT and City Boy.
But forget the ‘Jono sounds like’ preconceived opinion… Jono sounds like Jono and like no-other. They take the influences and mash-up everything into something unique.
Their extremely polished sound is pompous, bombastic and sometimes overblown, but never pedestrian.

I could mention all tracks on “Silence” as highlights, because this record is pure gold. Yes, it’s close to perfection. Even the cover artwork is magnificent.
JONO is the real deal, the most talented Rock band emerged in the last fifteen years (and more).
Like I said in the previous album review, get this album at any price. For now you’ll find it on iTunes, but the physical CD is on its way.
A Must Have.

01 – Man of Misery
02 – Wasting Time
03 – Can We Make It
04 – Turn Around
05 – Your Bread
06 – In My Life
07 – Clear
08 – The One to Blame
09 – Opus
10 – Josefina

Johan Norrby – vocals, keyboards
Stefan Helleblad – guitar
John Carlgren – keyboards
Janne Henriksson – bass
Nicka Hellenberg – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.