WALTER TROUT – We’re All In This Together (2017)

WALTER TROUT - We're All In This Together (2017) full

We’re All In This Together” – indeed. For his just released new studio album, iconic WALTER TROUT called some of blues’ best performers – and boy did they come through. Each musician featured on this album are in the A-list of the genre.
There’s no one musician on here that is more impressive than the rest, though John Mayall and Joe Bonamassa are probably the two with the greatest fame.

Trout doted on them all, writing each song with one specific musician in mind. In the case of guest musician Warren Haynes, Trout arranged for the two of them to record “The Sky Is Crying”.
For each of his other 13 guests, Trout wrote original material. In order of appearance on the album, those guests are: Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Sonny Landreth, Charlie Musselwhite, Mike Zito, Robben Ford, Warren Haynes, Eric Gales, Edgar Winter, Joe Louis Walker, John Nemeth, Jon Trout, Randy Bachman, John Mayall and Joe Bonamassa.

In truth, it is almost impossible to pick highlights in these 14 cuts such is the quality, but “Other Side Of The Pillow” which sees Charlie Musselwhite blow the harp as only he can, is particularly special – and whilst everyone knows how much of a family man Trout is, there is nevertheless a certain type of glee in his voice when he offers, “you know it ain’t none of my fault if your woman is looking over my fence….”

WALTER TROUT - We're All In This Together (2017) disc

It is just possible though, that everything here has to live in the slipstream of “She Listens To The Blackbird Sing” which sees Royal Southern Brotherhood’s Mike Zito and Trout’s old keysman Skip Edwards to the fore. The twin guitar at the end sounds for all the world like some lost Allman Brothers track too.

Whilst the core flavour of this CD is always blues, there are many other tastes on the menu.
A foray into funky stuff sees Eric Gales appear for “Somebody Goin’ Down”, Edgar Winter buries the hatchet with Trout in spectacular style on the soul-infused “She Steals My Heart Away” and Joe Louis Walker is front and centre of the shuffling “Crash And Burn.”
And so it continues, his son Jon makes this a family affair on “Do You Still See Me At All” while the blistering rock n roll of “Got Nothin’ Left” was written for – and is slayed by – Randy Bachman and the delta blues of “Blues For Jimmy T” is taken to some other place by John Mayall’s harmonica.

An instrumental – “Mr Davis” – is indebted to Robben Ford. Waht a terrific player.
The only cover, the aforementioned Elmore Davis’ “The Sky Is Cryin’” is perfect for Warren Hayes, but it’s the closer that reminds everyone just how wonderful – and influential – Trout has been.
The title track is another chance for Joe Bonamassa to take centre stage and as ever, being one of the greatest of his generation, he doesn’t disappoint. This one track alone is worth buying the album.

WALTER TROUT - We're All In This Together (2017) back

“We’re All In This Together” is some achievement. It’s an aptly titled album that reflects Trout’s high standing in the blues rock world. It’s more than a follow up to 2006’s Full Circle as the material is stronger and Trout’s own performance is so much more focused and disciplined.
His guests act as catalyst for a broad based blues-rock album that flows from beginning to end. It burns with commitment, passion and sparkles with real quality that mirrors the triumph of the whole over the minutiae of its making.
Highly Recommended

01. Gonna Hurt Like Hell (feat. Kenny Wayne Shepherd)
02. Ain’t Goin’ Back (feat. Sonny Landreth)
03. The Other Side Of The Pillow (feat. Charlie Musselwhite)
04. She Listens To The Blackbird Sing (feat. Mike Zito)
05. Mr. Davis (feat. Robben Ford)
06. The Sky Is Crying (feat. Warren Haynes)
07. Somebody Goin’ Down (feat. Eric Gales)
08. She Steals My Heart Away (feat. Edgar Winter)
09. Crash And Burn (feat. Joe Louis Walker)
10. Too Much To Carry (feat. John Nemeth)
11. Do You Still See Me At All (feat. Jon Trout)
12. Got Nothin’ Left (feat. Randy Bachman)
13. Blues For Jimmy T. (feat John Mayall)
14. We’re All In This Together (feat. Joe Bonamassa)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.