AEROSMITH – Live! Bootleg [Blu-Spec CD2 remastered]

AEROSMITH - Live! Bootleg [Blu-Spec CD2 remastered] full

One of you asked for the best sounding-reissue AEROSMITH albums, especially from the first era. Now here’s “Live! Bootleg”, recorded with the band at their peak, pretty improved in this remastered Japanese Blu-Spec CD2 release.

Since Aerosmith had become one of America’s premier rock n’ roll concert attractions by 1978, it was only natural that an in-concert collection was issued that year, the double album, “Live! Bootleg”.
Unlike other live albums at the time, it’s obvious that not a lot of overdubbing was involved to fix up the tracks, which results in a refreshingly authentic representation of Aerosmith at the group’s most drugged-out and rocking.

All of the performances were taken from Tyler and company’s 1977-1978 U.S. tour (with the exception of a couple from 1973), while the album’s packaging and title were a joke on all the poor-sounding, unauthorized live recordings that were in circulation at the time.

Just about every classic is included — “Back in the Saddle,” “Sweet Emotion,” “Walk This Way,” “Come Together,” “Last Child,” “Mama Kin,” a much heavier version of “Toys In The Attic” — as well as key album tracks (“Sick as a Dog,” “S.O.S.,” etc.).
But the album’s high point has to be the aforementioned pair of long-lost tracks from 1973 — loose and groovy covers of the Yardbirds’ “I Ain’t Got You”, and James Brown’s “Mother Popcorn.”

AEROSMITH - Live! Bootleg [Blu-Spec CD2 remastered] back

To tie in with the careless ‘bootleg theme’ of the album, the track “Draw the Line” is unlisted, but it’s present after “Mother Popcorn.”
This remaster keeps the ‘raw feel’ of the original recording, which I celebrate.
Highly Recommended

Sony Music Japan SICP-30372

01 – Back In The Saddle
02 – Sweet Emotion
03 – Lord Of The Thighs
04 – Toys In The Attic
05 – Last Child
06 – Come Together
07 – Walk This Way
08 – Sick As A Dog
09 – Dream On
10 – Chip Away The Stone
11 – Sight For Sore Eyes
12 – Mama Kin
13 – S.O.S.
14 – I Ain’t Got You
15 – Mother Popcorn / Draw The Line (unlisted)
16 – Train Kept A Rollin’ / Strangers In The Night

Steven Tyler – lead vocals, harmonica
Joe Perry – guitar, vocals
Brad Whitford – guitar
Tom Hamilton – bass, vocals
Joey Kramer – drums, percussion
additional musicians:
Mark Radice – keyboards, backing vocals
David Woodford – saxophone on “Mother Popcorn”


You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Jimmy says:

    Link doesn’t work : (

  2. Jimmy says:

    Great! Thank you! : )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.