RICHIE SAMBORA – Stranger In This Town [Expanded Edition reissue] (2018)

RICHIE SAMBORA - Stranger In This Town [Expanded Edition reissue] (2018) full

‘Stranger in This Town’ is the first solo studio album by RICHIE SAMBORA, then guitarist from the New Jersey heroes Bon Jovi. The album was released in 1991, while Bon Jovi was on a 17-month hiatus. Now it has been 2018 reissued in a so called “Stranger In This Town [Expanded Edition]” including a bonus track.

As his first solo album, Sambora experimented with a more bluesy oriented sound. He sings lead vocals and play all kind of guitars on the album, backed by his Bon Jovi bandmates Tico Torres on drums and David Bryan on keyboards, joined by master Tony Levin on bass guitar.
Eric Clapton guest stars with a guitar solo on the track “Mr. Bluesman”, as well as Randy Jackson (Zebra, Richard Marx) on bass, Dean Fasano (Prophet, Message), Franke Previte (Franke & The Knockouts) providing backing vocals, and many others.

“Ballad of Youth”, “One Light Burning” and “The Answer” were co-written with colleagues from his former club band Shark Frenzy. “Rosie” was originally intended to be a Bon Jovi song for their fourth album ‘New Jersey’, versions of this song with the full Bon Jovi line-up have surfaced as bootlegs.

“Ballad of Youth” was released as the lead single, and the non-album track “The Wind Cries Mary” (a Jimi Hendrix cover) was its B-side, included as bonus in this “Stranger In This Town [Expanded Edition]”.
The sound quality of this reissue has been corrected according to modern audio equipment – that not meaning remastering, but balanced levels.
I love this album.
Highly Recommended

01 – Rest In Peace
02 – Church Of Desire
03 – Stranger In This Town
04 – Ballad Of Youth
05 – One Light Burning
06 – Mr. Bluesman
07 – Rosie
08 – River Of Love
09 – Father Time
10 – The Answer
11 – The Wind Cries Mary (Bonus Track)

Richie Sambora – vocals, guitars, strings arrangement
David Bryan – keyboards, strings arrangement
Tico Torres – drums, percussion
Eric Clapton – guitar solo on “Mr. Bluesman”
Tony Levin – bass guitar, Chapman Stick
Randy Jackson – bass guitar on “One Light Burning”
Jeff Bova, Robbie Buchanan, Larry Fast – keyboards, programming
Rafael Padilla, Carol Steele – percussion
Dean Fasano, Franke Previte, Curtis King, Bekka Bramlett, Isabella Lento, Tawatha Agee, Brenda White-King – background vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.