HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS – Collected (3-CD Box Set) *Exclusive*

HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS - Collected (3-CD Box Set) full

A 3-CD set of HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS classic and rare material, titled “Collected”, has been released in Europe by USM in the Netherlands. “Collected” is only available on this physical form, not digitally.
The best kept secret in pop/rock compilations is Universal Music Netherlands’ occasional ‘Collected’ career summaries. The newest in these series is this three CD Huey Lewis & The News set (and a 2LP vinyl).
Perhaps because these are never full international releases (and normally have to be bought as imports) the label has a knack of licensing the tracks that more mainstream compilations normally forego (songs from soundtracks, various artists compilations) and this set looks typically superb.

It goes right back to the beginning by including the A and B-side of the band’s first single in 1979 when they were called ‘American Express’ (on CD 3, the disc normally reserved for rarities) and brings the story right up to date with a couple of tracks from their last studio outing, 2010’s Soulsville.

In between (on CD 1 & 2) is no less than every single the band has released, often in single edit form – for example the rare Jellybean single mix of ‘Back in Time’ is included.

The third disc mops up plenty of rarities including a couple of tracks by US country/rock band Clover (when Huey Lewis was a member), the live ‘Trouble In Paradise’ from the USA for Africa album, the rare B-side ‘Flip Flop & Fly’, and the band’s cover of ‘Oh! Darling’ from the 1995 compilation album Come Together: America Salutes The Beatles.

Of special interest for me – an ’80s sucker – are the four extended versions previously unreleased on CD.
They are the Extended Version/Dance Mix of ‘I Want A New Drug’ (the song that famously ‘inspired’ the Ghostbusters theme tune), the Jellybean Remix of both ‘Heart And Soul’ and ‘The Power Of Love’, and the Dance Remix of ‘Hip To Be Square’.
I love Huey Lewis & The News, and this is an excellent career-spanning 3-CD release.


01. Some Of My Lies Are True (Sooner Or Later)
02. Now Here’S You (Single Version)
03. Stop Trying
04. Trouble In Paradise
05. Do You Believe In Love
06. Hope You Love Me Like You Say You Do
07. Workin’ For A Livin’
08. Tattoo (Giving It All Up For Love)
09. Heart And Soul (Single Edit)
10. I Want A New Drug (Single Edit)
11. The Heart Of Rock & Roll (Single Edit)
12. If This Is It
13. Walking On A Thin Line (Single edit)
14. Bad Is Bad
15. The Power Of Love
16. Back In Time (Jellybean Single Mix)
17. Stuck With You
18. Hip To Be Square
19. Jacob’S Ladder (Single Version)
20. I Know What I Like (Single Version)

CD 2
01. Simple As That
02. Doing It All For My Baby
03. Perfect World
04. Small World (Single Version)
05. Give Me The Keys (Single Edit)
06. World To Me
07. alking With The Kid
08. Couple Days Off (Short Edit)
09. It Hit Me Like A Hammer (Sax Single Remix)
10. He Don’T Know
11. (She’S) Some Kind Of Wonderful
12. But It’S Alright
13. Little Bitty Pretty One
14. 100 Years From Now
15. We’Re Not Here For A Long Time
16. Let Her Go And Start Over (Radio Edit)
17. I’M Not In Love Yet (With Wynonna Judd)
18. Pineapple Express
19. Respect Yourself
20. Just The One (I’Ve Been Looking For)

CD 3
01. Clover – Streets Of London
02. Clover – Ain’t Nobody Own Nobody’s Soul
03. American Express – Exodisco
04. American Express – Kick Back
05. Trouble In Paradise (Live)
06. Flip Flop & Fly
07. Oh! Darling
08. Once Upon A Time In New York City
09. Feelin’ Alright
10. Lonely Teardrops
11. Strokeland Superband Ft. Huey Lewis – Work With Me
12. Brenda Lee & Huey Lewis – Oh! Happy Day
13. Frankie Miller & Huey Lewis – Way Past Midnight
14. I Want A New Drug (Extended Version)
15. Heart And Soul (Jellybean Remix)
16. The Power Of Love (Jellybean Remix)
17. Hip To Be Square (Dance Remix)



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. ERRRRMAN says:

    Thanks! Been a long time since I’ve heard this stuff

  2. rodrigo gaspar says:

    Thank you. Joe Montana and the San Francisco 49ers doing backing vocals in a few of these tracks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.