ANGEL – Live Without A Net [Rock Candy Remastered] (2019)

ANGEL - Live Without A Net [Rock Candy Remastered] (2019) full

Rock Candy Records specialists have remastered a second batch of ANGEL discography. Here’s “Live Without A Net”, cleaned and enhanced for a better listening experience.
In the late Seventies double live albums were often the calling card of an act that had either made its mark or were about to explode to international fame. They were a marker of confidence by both the record label and the artist.

Angel was no exception as all eyes had been on the band for some considerable time in preparation for an anointment to the premier league. Because label mates KISS had exploded with their epoch-making ‘Alive!’ double album it seemed as though Angel could have the same success.
Sadly, however, that success was not to be.

With five studio albums behind them there was no shortage of material from which to compile this album. Recording two concerts in California during 1978, the band had a red hot selection of tracks that incorporated such nuggets as ‘Tower’ and ‘Feelin’ Right’ (complete with a Jeff Beck tribute) from their very earliest, prog-influenced days to the Pomp AOR of ‘Ain’t Gonna Eat My Heart Out Anymore’, ‘Got Love If You Want It’ and ‘White Lightning’.

They also found room to include some surprises, such as a fine rendition of the Mott The Hoople standard ‘All The Young Dudes’ and a brand studio track, ‘20th Century Foxes’, written by the band for the 1980 ‘Foxes’ film soundtrack.
Despite the album’s explosive content and no-holds-barred performance, the record failed to connect in the way that everyone had hoped for.
In addition, Casablanca Records were fast losing traction as a company and facing massive destabilising forces, which left the band pretty much rudderless. They had in many respects reached the end of the line but at least they went out with a bang.

The sound quality has been enhanced, more clear in definition, and with a lively feel indeed.
Highly Recommended


01 – Tower
02 – Can You Feel It
03 – Don’t Leave Me Lonely
04 – Telephone Exchange
05 – Ain’t Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore
06 – Over And Over
07 – Anyway You Want It
08 – On The Rocks
09 – Wild And Hot
10 – All The Young Dudes
11 – Rock & Rollers
12 – White Lightning
13 – Hold Me, Squeeze Me
14 – Got Love If You Want It
15 – Feelin’ Right
16 – 20th Century Foxes

Frank DiMino – lead vocals
Punky Meadows – lead guitars
Felix Robinson – bass guitar
Barry Brandt – drums
Gregg Giuffria – keyboards



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.