DEF LEPPARD – Def Leppard [UK Limited Edition Fanpack +2] + Japan Ed. exclusive Bonus

DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard [UK Limited Edition Fanpack, 2015] full

If you were thinking why the new DEF LEPPARD album has been dubbed “Def Leppard” – a self titled at this stage of their career – it’s simply because the record contents can only be described as sounding like… well, Def Leppard.
What we have here is an album that is classic Def Leppard without actually honing in on any one album or era. There’s parts of Hysteria, Adrenalize, Euphoria, Slang, X and even Sparkle on here.
In other words, its pure “Def Leppard”.

This exclusive to UK ” Def Leppard Limited Edition Fanpack” released in conjunction with Classic Rock Magazine / TeamRock includes the album plus exclusive bonus tracks, and we have the Japanese Edition bonus track too.

The first half of the album is true, traditional 80s – 90s Def Leppard, and I love it! Catchy songs, sharp riffs and ‘that’ melodic choruses. The second is more varied, where they blend their recent modern sound with the band’s eclectic influences, but all, in trademark Def Lep style.
Opener ‘Let’s Go’ is an absolute classic Hysteria-era Leppard; big drums, big guitars, big harmonies – it may be a little structurally similar to Pour Some Sugar On Me, but who cares?

DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard [UK Limited Edition Fanpack, 2015] pack photo

‘Dangerous’ that follows is an awesome ultra-melodic rocker, while the bass-driven ‘Man Enough’ somehow manages to sound classic rock with punch; there are elements of Queen circa ‘The Game’ here – great fun.

The classy ballad ‘We Belong’ features all band members singing lead vocal lines for the first time, the excellent driving melodic rocker ‘Invincible’ is contagious, while the heavily-programmed ‘Energized’ adds modern waves.
There’s happy rhythms on ‘Sea Of Love’, then ‘Forever Young’ continue the no-frills approach from the ‘Songs From The Sparkle Lounge’ album. The Hard Rocking, guitar-driven ‘All Time High’ and ‘Broke ‘N’ Brokenhearted’ nod back to the High ‘N’ Dry and Pyromania days, albeit with a more modern sheen.

Sounding quite unlike anything that Def Leppard have recorded before is the wonderful ‘Battle Of My Own’ that sees the band go all Led Zeppelin on us (Lep Zeppelin?), initially acoustic-led until the power-chords crash in, accompanied by string effects.
The beautiful, serene ballad ‘Last Dance’ has acoustic elements that harks back to some of the ‘Retroactive’ tracks.

DEF LEPPARD - Def Leppard [UK Limited Edition Fanpack, 2015] digipak

Def Leppard’s new studio album is one of the biggest surprises in 2015. I hoped for such an album many, many years, but I never thought that it would see the light of day.
Joe Elliott & Co proved me wrong, so if you’re a fan of the early, classic Def Leppard days, then you need to check out this record. You will love it.


01 – Let’s Go
02 – Dangerous
03 – Man Enough
04 – We Belong
05 – Invincible
06 – Sea Of Love
07 – Energized
08 – All Time High
09 – Battle Of My Own
10 – Broke ‘n’ Brokenhearted
11 – Forever Young
12 – Last Dance
13 – Wings Of An Angel
14 – Blind Faith
15 – We Belong (Alternative vocal take)
16 – Let’s Go (UK radio edit)
15 – Last Dance (Sav’s version)

Joe Elliott – Vocals
Phil Collen – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Vivian Campbell – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Rick “Sav” Savage – Bass, Backing Vocals
Rick Allen – Drums, Backing Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.