THE TREATMENT – Running With The Dogs [2-CD Deluxe Edition]

THE TREATMENT - Running With The Dogs [2 CD Deluxe Edition] (2014) full

As requested, here’s the 2-CD Deluxe Edition of THE TREATMENT‘s album “Running With The Dogs“. At the time of this release, The Treatment was a band who have lived a bit of a charmed life so far: their first album This Might Hurt was recorded in the studio of Steve Harris from Iron Maiden and since then the guys supported some of the biggest bands around, including opening for Motley Crue and KiSS tour across the USA, not too bad for five guys from Cambridge, UK.
The band managed to find time in their busy touring schedule to return to the studio and record this album, and this Deluxe Edition includes a bonus disc with exclusive songs / versions.

Once again The Treatment have dug out their classic rock record collection for inspiration and marry together the best bits from the likes of AC/DC, Def Leppard, Thin Lizzy, UFO, The Cult, the list goes on. It would be easy to write them off as a tribute act of sorts but that would be to sell the band short as they take these elements and bring them bang up to date with some clever writing and plenty of attitude.
What makes this band so easy to listen is the youthful vigour, the swagger of age that has yet to see the frightened early morning stares of 30, the sheer enjoyment in the voice which springs out like a gazelle frolicking in the African bush.

Opening track “I Bleed Rock + Roll” is a perfect example of this, there is a definite AC/DC influence in the riff but the track is infused with an energy that makes it sound fresh and vital. “Drop Like A Stone” continues with the driving forcefulness and possibly just a hint of Alice Cooper in the melody, a plus point in my book.
One of the early album highlights is track 3 “Get The Party On” which I could see becoming a live favourite.

All the songs are fun, specially to note “Emergency” which nods in Def Leppard’s direction, “The Outlaw” which starts with an excerpt from the old Wild West before hitting the mean streets of downtown LA circa 1985, the laid back, prophetic “Cloud Across The Sun”, and the blistering raucous advice of “Don’t Get Mad Get Evil”.
No classic rock album would be complete without a heartfelt ballad and the guys don’t disappoint with “Unchain My World”, a really well crafted acoustic number with a big chorus which ticks all the boxes.

THE TREATMENT - Running With The Dogs [2 CD Deluxe Edition] (2014) back cover

This worthwhile “Running With The Dogs Deluxe Edition” features a bonus disc with a lot of material to enjoy; the raucous “Way Of The World”, the melodic and bluesy “The Seeker”, the emotional and Aerosmith-like “No Matter What”, a solid acoustic version of title track and more.

If The Treatment’s debut was a record of huge potential showing just what can be achieved when young hearts and minds are inspired by classic sounds and shapes, then this follow-up “Running With The Dogs” shows that potential being realized in style.
This is a truly enjoyable, fine collection of songs which cemented The Treatment’s position as one of the best new bands playing this type of timeless classic rock.
And really, really well done.


01. I Bleed Rock + Roll
02. Drop Like A Stone
03. Get The Party On
04. Running With The Dogs
05. The Outlaw
06. Emergency
07. She’s Too Much
08. Cloud Across The Sun
09. Don’t Look Down
10. World On Fire
11. What Is There To Say?
12. Unchain My World
13. Don’t Get Mad Get Evil

Bonus CD:
01. Way Of The World
02. The Seeker
03. She Does It Right
04. No Matter What
05. In My Chair
06. Running With The Dogs (Acoustic)
07. I Bleed Rock + Roll (Acoustic)

Matt Jones – Vocals
Tagore Grey – Guitar
Jake Pattinson – Guitar
Rick ‘Swoggle’ Newman – Bass
Dhani Mansworth – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.