WARRIOR SOUL – Last Decade Dead Century [Japan HR/HM 1000 Vol.4 series] (2022) HQ

WARRIOR SOUL - Last Decade Dead Century [Japan HR/HM 1000 Vol.4 series] (2022) HQ full

Universal Music Japan has started this year another campaign of their ‘HR/HM 1000‘ series, that meaning the reissue of long time out of print albums from their Hard Rock / Heavy Metal catalog at the price of 1000 Yen = about 9 USD.
As part of the 2022 HR-HM 1000 Vol.4 series, we have here WARRIOR SOUL‘s killer debut album ”Last Decade Dead Century”. You can’t deny WARRIOR SOUL was a special, different beast in the 1990’s US hard rock scene, and while we didn’t dig too much some of their political preach and how the band musically evolved in subsequent albums, this debut kills with sharp razor riffs and ballsy punchy melodies.

A politician, musician, prophet, and raving madman. All of these being parts that make up the sum of Kory Clarke lead singer of the 90’s act Warrior Soul. Originally from New York, they spoke of life, injustice, and angst, all wrapped by a stomp hard rock sound.
On their debut ‘Last Decade, Dead Century’ the messages Clarke has for society are lined out from the opener “I See The Ruins” to the politically charged “Superpower Dreamland”. Laments to the unpopular come forth in “The Losers”, perhaps the best Warrior Soul song ever.

Tracks like “We Cry Out” & “Trippin’ On Ecstasy” are in your face heavy tunes with John Ricco rippin’ some terrific guitar riffs. “Downtown” speaks of life as Kory lived it, while “Lullaby” is one of the most solemn ballads I had ever heard.
A moment of soap boxing preaching is delivered during “Four More Years” which in a distorted and eerie voice, a cryptic view of the goings on in society is spoken about. George Bush Sr. was in office and Kory Clarke made no bones about how he felt about that.

While you may like or not the lyrical content, musically ”Last Decade Dead Century” rocks like Hell. Warrior Soul delivers here the no holes barred attitude of Guns N’ Roses’ and the catchy hooks of the Sunset Strip era, heavier, ballsier.
Highly Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


H R / H M 1000 SERIES

01. I See The Ruins
02. We Cry Out
03. The Losers
04. Downtown
05. Trippin’ On Ecstasy
06. Four More Years
07. Superpower Dreamland
08. Charlie’s Out Of Prison
09. Blown Away
10. Lullaby
11. In Conclusion

Kory Clarke – lead vocals
John Ricco – guitar
Pete McClanahan – bass
Paul Ferguson – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.