SQUARED – Strange Affairs (2022)

SQUARED - Strange Affairs (2022) full

Founded in 2019 by French guitarist Arthur Vere & Swedish singer Jack L. Stroem, SQUARED instantly became something very dear & special for the duo, taking inspiration from the late ’80s AOR scene mixed with their own musical backgrounds.
After the first songwriting session for their debut CD “Strange Affairs” the plan was made & everything was going as scheduled… Then 2020 came and we all know what happened. The plan was re-worked, more songs were written and “Strange Affairs” was recorded remotely from Sweden & France respectively by Jack & Arthur sending files across the world wide web to each other.
It was also during this time that SQUARED decided to hire the renowned session musicians and longtime friends of Jack; Robin Risander on Drums & Kammo Olayvar on Bass.
“Strange Affairs” has an authentic sound because it was recorded with vintage instruments together with live drums & completely without any autotune on the vocals. For 1989 this would be the way every album had to be recorded, but it is almost unheard of in today’s music scene.

Without plans of stopping SQUARED intends to surf on the ’80s nostalgia wave while writing music that could have been released back then… but wasn’t.
Highly Recommended


01 – One Thousand Years
02 – Stranger At Heart
03 – Personal Matter
04 – Darkest Fantasies
05 – Love Can Be Lonely
06 – Say That You Love Me
07 – Love Affair
08 – Clutching At Straws
09 – Anthem of a Broken Heart

Jack L. Stroem – vocals, keys
Arthur Vere – guitar, bass, synths
Robin Risander – drums
Kammo Olayvar – bass


Pre order:

1 Response

  1. Daniel says:

    This album is a great surprise!!
    Darkest Fantasies sounds like an Aviator song.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.