PAGE 99 – For Imagination’s Sake +1 (2022) HQ

PAGE 99 - For Imagination's Sake +1 (2022) full

Berklee musician John Nixon’s project, PAGE 99, aims to keep alive the great West Coast AOR musical ideals of the 1970s and ’80s, and following on from their critically acclaimed debut last year, their second album is already here, titled “For Imagination’s Sake“.
The title track is a remake of a Sons Of Champlin song, and guess what, the stainless Bill Champlin joins on lead vocals, as well as legendary session guitarist Paul Pesko (Hall & Oates, Madonna, Glenn Hughes). There’s other guest appearances like Swede AORster Peter Friestedt on guitar.

Classic chord progressions, sophisticated melodies, and top-level musicianship are values that should never be lost or diminished in this genre, and PAGE 99 not only take care of it, but also add a fresh updated approach. If you love that classic FM Radio sound, you can’t get it better than this. Seriously.
More melody-oriented and varied in styles than its predecessor, the AOR appeal of this album is enhanced by a cover of Finis Henderson’s classic ‘You Owe It All To Love’ and Mark Jordan’s ‘Dance With Me’ from his stupendous album ‘A Hole In The Wall’.

Songs like ‘The Only Thing That Matters’ and ‘Indian Summer’ are full of TOTO elements, while there’s very enjoyable Steely Dan-style midtempo shuffle grooves on ‘Inside Voice’. Other highlights include the smooth ‘Tickin’ Away’ brings to mind Steve Porcaro solo work, and the sweet ‘Can’t Stop’ featuring a very good Peter Friestedt guitar solo.
Mark Jordan’s penned ballad ‘Dance With Me’ was re-arranged to fit Page 99’s sound, as well as ‘You Owe It All To Love’ delivering a strong performance by Russ Fitzpatrick, one of the main singers of the unit.
Highly Recommended


01 – For Imagination’s Sake (feat Bill Champlin & Paul Pesco)
02 – The Only Thing That Matters
03 – Lifeline
04 – Indian Summer
05 – Inside Voice
06 – Dance with Me
07 – Tickin’ Away
08 – Can’t Stop (feat Peter Friestedt)
09 – Never Recover
10 – Sara (Restless Heart)
11 – You Owe It All to Love
Bonus Track:
12 – Stay the Night

John Nixon – Vocals, guitar, bass, keys, percussion
Russ Fitzpatrick – Vocals, all vocal arrangements
Andrea Di Puccio – Guitars
Bill Salisbury – Bass
Duane Allen Harlick – Vocals, guitars
Christian Gratz – Guitar, Bass, Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.