DYNAZTY – Knock You Down (2011)

DYNAZTY Knock You Down 2011 Japan bonus single This Is My Life
Japan Edition

Dynazty is another one of these hyped up and high steam metal bands to come out of Sweden, a country that has been notoriously releasing so many kick ass bands lately.
But if you think these guys just landed on the scene, well, not.
In fact in 2008 they worked with very well known producer Chris Laney and released their debut album ‘Bring The Thunder’ to some rave reviews around certain circles, mainly in Scandinavia.

Roll forward a couple of years and the band brought their show on the west coast as they recorded their new record “Knock You Down” in Los Angeles and mixed in Stockholm by the expert Chris Laney (again), the album speak of quality and top notch craftsmanship.
“Knock You Down” is a brand new chapter in the band’s history as they’re now under the protecting wings of Hollywood famed actor Peter Stormare (yes, pretty much the same story as what happened to H.E.A.T).

But do not expect this to be clean and fluffy rock in the vein of H.E.A.T though. Or a ‘glammy / sleaze’ stuff despite their name including Y’s and Z.
Dynazty are strolling down the same path as usual with triple capitol “S” (Steelheart, Slaughter, Skid Row) as perhaps not main influences, but definitely inspiration.
Molin is the old skool powerhouse vocalist and Rob Love Magnusson likes to shred as in the good old days.

Anyway, there’s some glitter on the fiery kick starter “Sleeping With The Enemy” and the chop-fueled “The Devil’s Playground”, both sitting nicely in with the more modern sleaze acts.
They’re definitely at their best when they keep things nice and clean (read: old skool) on tracks such as the awesomely catchy “New Sensation” or the brilliant melodic rocker “Hunger For Love” with its addictive chorus line.
Another very retro numbers are the melodic anthemic title track “Knock You Down” (great guitar work), and the scorching “Wild Nights” sustained by a typically ’80s riff.

There’s also more strength and sharp tracks here, being the best of all “Throne Of China”. The prowess of this song has a killer groove and a superb guitar shred reminiscent of some very old-school Dokken riffest, with Magnusson reminding me Jake E. Lee on the solo.
“Mr. Money” is another good one, a strongly guitar based hard rocker with a very contagious gang chorus and a live feel.
On “Brand New Day” and particularly “The Great Delusion” they sound like ’90s Skid Row, less gritty but dark and deep.

Japanese bonuses include the acoustics “Too Much Is Not Enough” and “Stand As One”, the latter exploding at the middle fully into electric, a very nice semi-ballad.
The best, and one of the highlights on the disc, is the uptempo rocker “One In A Million”, with a contagious chorus and nice refrain, a pretty commercial tune featuring very good guitars.

Finally, as a special bonus, “This Is My Life”, the scandinavian-only bonus track, also released previously as a single in their homeland. This song was last year’s EuroVision winner (In Sweden), and Dynasty’s version is really, really good, done in the best Skid Row power ballad tradition, with wide open vocals and extremely melodic guitars.

Dynazty have previously mentioned that they are not interested in sounding like an ’80s band. Well, call their manager, because they’re very very eighties for the most part.
The overall sound (superbly produced by Chris Laney) is Scandi-Melodic Hard Rock with a bit of sleaze, but the song structures, licks and most the choruses are definitely ’80s-L.A. scene.
And that’s not a bad thing, on the contrary, they’re the best among the new wave of scandinavian MHR bands to capture the old school essence.
“Knock You Down” is a thoroughly enjoyable album, for the most part written and played in high level, featuring very cool choruses, fine melodies and some insane guitar shredding courtesy of Rob Magnusson. Don’t worry about vocals because you have a very capable and charismatic lead vocalist in Nils Molin.
This record just jumps out at you and the title is so fitting because it really punch your ears.

01 – Sleeping With The Enemy
02 – Get It On
03 – Mr. Money
04 – Throne Of China
05 – The Devil’s Playground
06 – Brand New Day
07 – Hunger For Love
08 – Knock You Down
09 – New Sensation
10 – Wild Nights
11 – The Great Delusion
12 – Too Much Is Not Enough (Japan Bonus track)
13 – One In A Million (Japan Bonus track)
14 – Stand As One (Japan Bonus track)
15 – This Is My Life (Scandinavian Bonus track)

Nils Molin – Vocals
Rob Love Magnusson – Guitars
Joel Fox Apelgren – Bass
George Egg – Drums
Mano Lewys – Guitar (live shows)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.