QUEENSRYCHE – Dedicated To Chaos [Special Edition] (2011)

QUEENSRYCHE Dedicated To Chaos Special Edition bonus tracks (2011)
This is the ‘real one’ with correct track 4

Celebrating its 30th anniversary, Queensrÿche is releasing a brand new album entitled “Dedicated To Chaos”. This is their 12th studio album and was recorded in Seattle, the group’s hometown, produced by Kelly Gray.
When asked about the overall musical direction of the new material, singer Geoff Tate says; “It’s kind of like an ‘Empire’ record set 25 years in the future. It’s a very listenable record. I think people will find it interesting to listen to on headphones, especially. There’s a lot going on with it.
And there’s definitely an emphasis on the rhythm section. Eddie [Jackson, bass] and Scott [Rockenfield, drums] have written a lot of the songs on this particular record, so it really showcases what they do, which is something very special.”

Drummer Scott Rockenfield; “I added a lot of film score elements and sound effects into my drum work in this recording. Geoff and I have really spent a lot of time together redesigning the Queensrÿche sound. It’s huge rock but with a great dance vibe to it, real modern dance. It’s kind of like ‘Rage For Order’ through a time tunnel, bringing it into the now mixed with ‘Empire’.”

There has been a lot of controversy surrounding this new Queensrÿche album, particularly in light of the above comments…
Well, “Dedicated To Chaos” isn’t a dancey pop record nor an out and out metal album.
It is a modern melodic rock outing with some pop influences, some typical Queensrÿche-prog-like style, all counterbalanced with more aggressive hard cuts like “The Lie” or “LuvnU”.
Interestingly enough, one of the songs that Rockenfield composed music for, the dark “At The Edge”, is among the heaviest tracks on the album and is most like old school Queensrÿche.

One of the things you have to accept and understand [specially old fans], is the fact that Queensrÿche always try to explore new territories.
You like it or not, but you can’t deny that “Dedicated To Chaos” is unlike anything out there. Take it or leave it.
And I take it.
This is a rock disc, original, innovative, complex but at the same time gently.
It isn’t a concept album, it is focused on songs, some dark, some experimental, some modern, some rocking.
Many tracks definitely takes the path of the ‘Empire’ era, like the beautiful mid-tempo “Hard Times” or “Higher”, while “I Believe” and specially the excellent “I Take You” are ‘Rage For Order’ sounding, but all peppered with a different, modern approach.
The trippy closing cut “Big Noize” has a strong Pink Floyd shadings to it.
But there also some songs really, really experimental, specially in the rhythm section, as “Wot We Do” or “Drive”. This is ‘new rock’ guys, and very interesting. Open your minds.

“Dedicated To Chaos” is focused on songs than a concept, kind of like what ‘Empire’ would then become, and mixed it in with being modern in the ‘Rage For Order’ style.
The album has many commercial / regular rock songs on it, and some moments that are less immediately accessible, with a great baggage of sounds and effects and unusual rhythm section.
Production is top-notch, with a heavy dedicated work on the mix.
I predict a strong debate that will erupt among hardcore fans about “Dedicated To Chaos”.
But think it’s not necessary. Most ’80s bands stick to their formula (and glad they do!) with their new albums, Queensrÿche just not.
They’re always experimenting, pushing the boundaries, sometimes successfully, sometimes not. You like it or not.
In the case of “Dedicated To Chaos”, I Do.
Really interesting.

Dedicated To Chaos [Special Edition]
includes 4 bonus tracks

01 – Get Started
02 – Hot Spot Junkie
03 – Got It Bad
04 – Around The World
05 – Higher
06 – Retail Therapy
07 – At The Edge
08 – Broken [Special Edition bonus track]
09 – Hard Times [Special Edition bonus track]
10 – Drive
11 – I Believe [Special Edition bonus track]
12 – LuvnU [Special Edition bonus track]
13 – Wot We Do
14 – I Take You
15 – The Lie
16 – Big Noize

Geoff Tate – Vocals, Keyboards
Michael Wilton – Guitars
Eddie Jackson – Bass, Fretless, Bkg Vocals
Scott Rockenfield – Drums, Programming, Bkg Vocals
Parker Lundgren – Guitars


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.