STYX – Regeneration Volume I & II (2011)

STYX - Regeneration Volume I & II (2011)


Legends STYX is like an endless touring machine, since last year, they are engaged in a once-in-a-lifetime tour, recreating two of their classic albums live: ‘The Grand Illusion’ and ‘Pieces Of Eight’.
After an extensive US leg, they toured Europe last summer with both Journey and Foreigner.
At the end of 2010, Styx recorded “Regeneration Volume I”, a seven song EP featuring new recordings of six classic Styx songs and one new track, originally ‘available at gigs only release’, not available on stores.
To celebrate this year tour, they went into the studio to tape “Regeneration Volume II”, a seven newly recorded classics and two covers.
Now, October 4, both albums are available for the first time as a doble CD package.
“Volume I” was already featured here at 0dayrock, read details HERE.

Most of what you hear on “Regeneration Volume I & II” is included in the current Styx set, which shouldn’t be a surprise.
This is a great way to sample the current line-up that features true classic Styx members James “JY” Young on guitar/vocals and vocalist/guitarist Tommy Shaw.
The duo are joined by long time members in Canadian Lawrence Gowan (Keyboards / Vocals) – who took over for the departed Dennis De Young a number of years ago – and powerhouse drummer Todd Sucherman, with bassist Ricky Phillips (Ex – Babys, Bad English), who shares the stage with original bassist Chuck Panozzo on select dates.

You get some expected as well as unexpected classics here from the Styx cannon.
Tunes such as “The Grand Illusion”, “Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)”, “Come Sail Away”, “Renegade”, “Blue Collar Man”, and “Crystal Ball” are all songs that any Styx collection would not be complete without.
The band do a great job with note for note reproductions of these staples, and a few, minor changes.
Tommy Shaw still sings as great as he did 30 years ago, which you can plainly hear on “Sing For The Day”, and Gowan does his fantastic Dennis De Young impression throughout.
Nice to hear cuts like “Lorelei”, the hard rocking “Queen of Spades” and “Snowblind”, as well as the folky “Boat On The River”.

‘JY’ also proves that he can still rock out quite hard on his blistering track “Miss America”, and the band even throw in a new tune here called “Difference In The World”, a more acoustic based number with some great melodies and rich vocal harmonies, with Shaw especially sounding amazing.
As an interesting bonus, the band decided to do updated versions of two Damn Yankees hits (the band Tommy Shaw was in with Jack Blades & Ted Nugent back in the early 90’s), the rocking “Coming of Age” and “High Enough”.
These songs are true to the original recordings, and the Styx version of “Coming Of Age” surprisingly packs a nice punch.

No band can lose 3/5 of its core (including one of the original songwriters and singers) without growing into something new. But Styx still rocks with all of the vitality and working class gusto that made them superstars in the ’70s / ’80s.
It was necessary re-recording some classics with the new line-up? I think the answer is yes.
This is how these classics are today, with 2011 production values. Musically, the band has a more Melodic Rock approach.
The ever youthful looking Tommy Shaw and James Young are both in top form, while bassist Ricky Phillips is more than a competent sit-in for Chuck Panozzo.
Styx have reloaded, beefed up their sound, and they are still very respectful of the band’s legacy.
And that comes through loud and clear on “Regeneration Volume I & II”, a great collection of superb songs with a new, interesting approach by these legendary musicians.
Very Good.

1) The Grand Illusion
2) Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)
3) Lorelei
4) Sing For The Day,
5) Crystal Ball
6) Come Sail Away
7) Difference In The World [New Track]

1) Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
2) Miss America
3) Renegade
4) Queen Of Spades
5) Boat on The River
6) Too Much Time On My Hands
7) Snowblind
8) Coming Of Age [Damn Yankees cover]
9) High Enough [Damn Yankees cover]

James “JY” Young – Guitars & Vocals
Tommy Shaw – Guitars, Vocals, Mandolin
Lawrence Gowan – Vocals & Keyboards
Todd Sucherman – Drums & Percussion
Ricky Phillips – Bass
Chuck Panozzo – Bass


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.