TINA TURNER – Private Dancer (30th Anniversary Edition Remaster) 2CD (2015)

TINA TURNER - Private Dancer (30th Anniversary Edition Remaster) 2CD (2015) full


Warner Music are reissuing TINA TURNER‘s essential ’80s album “Private Dancer” as a two-CD deluxe edition in a remastered form.
This (slightly late) 30th Anniversary Edition comes with a bonus disc of extra tracks which include 12” remixes, B-sides, non-album singles and more.

On May 29, 1984, Tina Turner issued the album that would take her from being unfairly viewed as a has-been by the world at large and gain her the respect and commercial success that she so sorely deserved.
It was a collection which featured 10 tracks produced by no less than four different sets of producers, and yet it proved to be exactly what the world at large need to appreciate the awesomeness of Ms. Turner and, perhaps most importantly, to finally remove the silent ‘Ike and’ that so often appeared in front of people’s perceptions of her.
Apart from the excellent ’80s ‘gold production’, we have some awesome session-man here such as Jeff Beck’s guitar, talented Rupert Hine on various instruments, Dire Strait’s bass player John Illsley, Mel Collins and more.

Disc 2 “The Extras” is great as include no less than 15 tracks, featuring Tina with the British Electric Foundation’s (B.E.F.) “Ball Of Confusion (That’s What The World Is Today), various B-sides, Extended 12” Remixes of “What’s Love Got To Do It, “Better Be Good To Me”, “I Can’t Stand The Rain”, etc, along with “We Don’t Need Another Hero”, Turner’s theme song to Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome.

TINA TURNER - Private Dancer (30th Anniversary Edition Remaster) 2CD (2015) back

Tina Turner’s “Private Dancer (30th Anniversary Edition Remaster) 2CD” is a highly recommended purchase to any ’80s music fan.
The fresh 2015 remaster is excellent and includes lots of worthwhile bonuses, some of them for the first time appeared on CD.

Disc 1 – Original Album Remastered 2015
01. I Might Have Been Queen
02. What’s Love Got To Do With It
03. Show Some Respect
04. I Can’t Stand The Rain
05. Private Dancer
06. Let’s Stay Together
07. Better Be Good To Me
08. Steel Claw
09. Help!
10. 1984

Disc 2 – The Extras
01. Ball Of Confusion (With B.E.F) Remix
02. I Wrote A Letter
03. Rock ‘N’ Roll Widow
04. Don’t Rush The Good Things
05. When I Was Young
06. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby
07. Tonight (With David Bowie) [Live At The Nec, Birmingham]
08. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (Live)
09. What’s Love Got To Do It (Extended 12″ Remix)
10. Better Be Good To Me (Extended 12″ Remix)
11. I Can’t Stand The Rain (Extended 12″ Remix)
12. Show Some Respect (Extended Mix)
13. We Don’t Need Another Hero (Thunderdome)
14. One Of The Living
15. It’s Only Love (with Bryan Adams)

Tina Turner – vocals, background vocals
Rupert Hine – bass, percussion, keyboards, vocals
Jeff Beck, Hal Lindes, David T. Walker, Paul Warren – guitar
Terry Britten – guitar, vocals, background vocals
Alan Clark, Jimmy Philips, Billy Livsey – keyboards
John Illsley, Wilton Felder, John Trivers – bass
Terry Williams, Graham Broad, Jack Bruno – drums
Mel Collins, Gary Barnacle – saxophone
David Ervin, Martyn Ware – synthesizer
Cy Curnin, Glenn Gregory, Tessa Niles – vocals, background vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.