DAVID GILMOUR – Live At Pompeii [2CD] (2017)

DAVID GILMOUR - Live At Pompeii [2CD] (2017) full

Live At Pompeii” is DAVID GILMOUR at his best and follows his critically acclaimed studio album Rattle That Lock from 2015. It is available in multiple formats: a 2 CD live album, a standard DVD and Blu-Ray concert film, a Deluxe Boxset including the 2 CD live album and 1 Blu-Ray of the entire live concert and bonus content, and a special 4 LP Vinyl package.

Following the release of Rattle That Lock in 2015, David Gilmour set out to play a series of concerts in historic venues across the world. On July 7th and 8th, 2016, Gilmour performed two spectacular shows at the legendary Pompeii Amphitheatre in the shadow of Mount Vesuvius, 45 years after he first played there for Adrian Maben’s classic film Pink Floyd Live at Pompeii.
He was the first human to play in front of a live audience there since the gladiators almost 2,000 years ago, the year Vesuvius erupted and the venue was entombed in ash.
Thankfully, the volcano behaves itself this time and Gilmour and his rapt crowd aren’t required to follow Spartacus and Commodus to the great gig in the sky during the intermission.

From the first moments, Gilmour’s guitar tone emits its unique emotional pull, and with his band flawless, he glides through the gears until every gorgeous note seems like manna from heaven.
From the drive of ‘Money’ to the throb of ‘One Of These Days’, it sounds molten. There’s mythology and magic present.

There’s a tangible atmosphere and a nod to the passing of time. “Ghosts from the recent and distant past are with us here,” says Gilmour after ‘The Great Gig In The Sky’ itself has been given a sublime rendition, led by his steel guitar and gospel-schooled backing singers. “That was a song written by Richard Wright, many years ago. And here’s a song written about him…”
‘A Boat Lies Waiting’ follows, from Rattle That Lock, the album that was then being promoted. Songs from the man’s solo career dominate earlier parts of the show, but there’s a tasteful trade-off between his fresher work and the Floyd landmarks that most listeners want to hear.
Then we get an euphoric ‘Run Like Hell’, and classic takes on ‘Breathe’ and ‘Comfortably Numb’.

DAVID GILMOUR - Live At Pompeii [2CD] (2017) back

As happens with all David Gilmour performances, watching the video is s totally different experience. However, if you haven’t time to sit in front the screen, this double CD work great, as example, while driving home.
Great show.

CD 1:
01. 5 A.M.
02. Rattle That Lock
03. Faces of Stone
04. What Do You Want From Me
05. The Blue
06. The Great Gig in the Sky
07. A Boat Lies Waiting
08. Wish You Were Here
09. Money
10. In Any Tongue
11. High Hopes
12. One of These Days

CD 2:
01. Shine On You Crazy Diamond
02. Fat Old Sun
03. Coming Back to Life
04. On an Island
05. Today
06. Sorrow
07. Run Like Hell
08. Time / Breathe (In The Air) (reprise)
09. Comfortably Numb

David Gilmour – vocals, guitars, console steel guitar, cymbals
Chester Kamen – guitars, backing vocals, harmonica
Guy Pratt – bass, backing vocals, lead vocals on Run Like Hell
Greg Phillinganes – keyboards, backing vocals, lead vocals on Time
Chuck Leavell – keyboards, lead vocals on Comfortably Numb
Steve DiStanislao – drums, percussion, backing vocals
João Mello – sax, clarinet, additional keyboards
Bryan Chambers – backing vocals, percussion, lead vocals on In Any Tongue and The Great Gig in the Sky
Lucita Jules – backing vocals, lead vocals on The Great Gig in the Sky
Louise Clare Marshallb – backing vocals, percussion, lead vocals on The Great Gig in the Sky


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.