SUPERSONIC BLUES MACHINE – West Of Flushing, South Of Frisco (2016)

SUPERSONIC BLUES MACHINE - West Of Flushing, South Of Frisco (2016) full

Re-posted as requested, one of the best rocking-blues band / album appeared in many time. “West Of Flushing, South Of Frisco” is the debut album from super-group SUPERSONIC BLUES MACHINE, and it’s one hell of a CD – a stunningly great album featuring the talent of bassist/producer Fabrizio Grossi, guitarist/vocalist Lance Lopez and legendary drummer Kenny Aronoff.

The three members have worked with a host of big names during their careers including Styx, Steve Vai, Alice Cooper, Glenn Hughes, Cinderella and many, many more.
In addition to the already stellar line up, the release features guest performances by Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), Warren Haynes (Govt Mule), exquisite guitar players Robben Ford, Walter Trout, Chris Duarte and electric wizard Eric Gales, making this super group even “more super.”

“West Of Flushing, South Of Frisco” is a killer collection of classic rock / blues heavy plenty of hard driving riffs and a mammoth rhythm section. The album opens with the southern rock inflected ‘Miracle Man’, a hooky tune that in the right hands could find a home on classic rock radio.
But things start to get really interesting with track 2 ‘I Ain’t Falling Again’, a true groove monster that should turn The Winery Dogs green of envy.
From this point on, the album just burns the entire farm to the ground.

The guest stars all put their unique stamp on their perspective tracks.
The hot ‘n’ fast Billy Gibbon’s ‘Running Whiskey’ could be a lost ZZ Top track (when they rocked good) full of blood & swagger, and ‘Remedy’ with Warren Haynes is a melodic stomper with ‘that’ bluesy mojo.
Both Chris Duarte (on the groovy ‘That’s My Way’) and Eric Gales (on the meaty ‘Nightmares And Dreams’) give empassioned performances.

The awesome ballad ‘Let’s Call It A Day’ is a perfect vehicle for the legendary Robben Ford and shows him at his melodic best. He and Lance even do a little harmony work on the intro as well as near the end of the track.
Walter Trout is back after recovering from his serious illness, and as well as having released an album of his own also guest here on ‘Can’t Take It No More’. It’s no surprise to learn that the guitar work on this song is stunningly good.

There’s a cover version on the album – the classic ‘Ain’t No Love [In The Heart Of The City]’. Originally by Bobby Bland, and covered most famously by Whitesnake but also by dozens of other artists, this is a song most rock fans will know, and this version really is excellent.
The trio rocks hard on the kicking ‘Bone Bucket Blues’, while ‘Let it Be’ is a slower, more mellow song – more blues than heavy blues rock, with some wonderful vocals. There’s a lovely guitar solo too. Another great track.

SUPERSONIC BLUES MACHINE - West Of Flushing, South Of Frisco (2016)back

When I hit play for the first time after receving this album for review I was expecting something pretty good, but nothing prepared me for just how GOOD this album is – it really is a superb record.
“West Of Flushing, South Of Frisco” is a total treat for the those of us who crave great hard driving blues based rock and ear frying guitar playing. The core of Supersonic Blues Machine of Lopez, Grossi, and Aronoff have nothing to prove. They could easily have carried the entire project themselves. The guest stars are just icing on an already very tasty cake.

If you like your bluesy classic rock mixed with a healthy dose of rock then this album is one you can’t afford to miss.
Highly Recommended


01 – Miracle Man
02 – I Ain’t Fallin’ Again
03 – Running Whiskey (feat. Billy Gibbons)
04 – Remedy (feat. Warren Haynes)
05 – Bone Bucket Blues
06 – Let It Be
07 – That’s My Way (feat. Chris Duarte)
08 – Ain’t No Love [In The Heart Of The City]
09 – Nightmares And Dreams (feat. Eric Gales)
10 – Can’t Take It No More (feat. Walter Trout)
11 – Whiskey Time
12 – Let’s Call It A Day (feat. Robben Ford)
13 – Watchagonnado

Lance Lopez – vocals, guitars
Fabrizio Grossi – bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Kenny Aronoff – drums, percussion



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can you re-up this please? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.