ZZ TOP – La Futura (2012)

ZZ TOP - La Futura (2012)


After nearly a decade’s wait, fans of ‘that little ole’ band from Texas’ called ZZ TOP will be rewarded on September 11 with the trio’s 15th album, “La Futura”.

The new ten-song record was co-produced by Rick Rubin and the band’s ever-so-stylish guitarist and singer Billy Gibbons.

Regular visitors of this site may have already read my review of the ‘Texicali EP’ last June. Well, my opinion hasn’t changed much with the full CD “La Futura”.

Regarded by the band as the album destined to recapture their original, seminal, vintage sound, I don’t think that was accomplished here. I love ZZ Top’s seventies direct-to-the-amp sound, but this has nothing to do with it.

There’s some moments where the magic outcrops, as on the catchy “Big Shiny Nine” and the cool “Flyin’ High”, but in my humble opinion, this ‘kind’ of production ruins the things for the most part.

The cover of the Gillian Welch / David Rawlings tune “It’s Too Easy Mañana” is plain awful.

Maybe I should “Have A Little Mercy” with this new album, but it leaves me with the sensation of “I Gotsta Get Paid”… back.

Judge yourselves.

01 – I Gotsta Get Paid

02 – Chartreuse

03 – Consumption

04 – Over You

05 – Heartache In Blue

06 – I Don’t Wanna Lose, Lose, You

07 – Flyin’ High

08 – It s Too Easy Mañana

09 – Big Shiny Nine

10 – Have A Little Mercy

Billy Gibbons: guitar and vocals

Dusty Hill: bass and vocals

Frank Beard: drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.