ZZ TOP – RAW ‘That Little Ol’ Band From Texas’ Original Soundtrack (2022)

ZZ TOP - RAW 'That Little Ol' Band From Texas' Original Soundtrack (2022) full

ZZ TOP‘s upcoming album ‘‘RAW” was recorded in connection with the band’s wildly popular and critically lauded 2019 Netflix documentary ”That Little Ol’ Band From Texas”. The Grammy-nominated feature from Banger Films and director Sam Dunn includes an interlude that finds the group’s classic lineup – Billy Gibbons, Frank Beard and the late Dusty Hill – gathering for a very intimate session at Gruene Hall, “the oldest continually run dance hall in Texas”.
That performance provided the basis for the ”RAW” album release.
The album’s title is derived from the unfettered and straightforward manner in which the tracks were recorded. As seen in the film, the band members played, for the most part, together within sight of each other in the course of one day. The methodology employed was something of an homage to the way ZZ Top recorded at the start of its epic five plus decades run at the pinnacle of rock’s pantheon.

Billy F Gibbons served as producer with engineering by Jake Mann and Gary Moon; ”RAW” was mixed by Ryan Hewitt.
The album’s twelve tracks recall the very beginning of the band’s recording career (“Brown Sugar” and “Certified Blues” from ZZ Top’s First Album) and include many of their major hits (“Legs”, “Tush”, “LaGrange”, “Gimme All Your Lovin'”) with a definite blues skew (“Blue Jean Blues”, “Just Got Paid”, “I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide”) as well as some up-tempo house rockers (“Tube Snake Boogie”, “Thunderbird”).

The album is dedicated “In righteous memory of Dusty Hill. Billy and Frank explain the album approach: “…it was, in a very real way, a return to our roots. Just us and the music, no audience of thousands, no concession stands, no parking lot social hour, no phalanx of tour busses. Just us and the music.
We knew right then it was a very special circumstance, all of us in the same place at the same time and what a time it most certainly was!
It was as bare bones as when we first started touring in a behemoth Chrysler station wagon, driving vast stretches between those early far-flung shows under blackened Texas skies and first hearing our records on the radio. We were bonded as brothers.
‘The Dust’ may have left the building but he’s still very much with us.”

Long Live real Rock N’ Roll. Long Live ZZ TOP.
Highly Recommended


01 – Brown Sugar
02 – Just Got Paid
03 – Heard It On The X
04 – La Grange
05 – Tush
06 – Thunderbird
07 – I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide
08 – Legs
09 – Gimme All Your Lovin’
10 – Blue Jean Blues
11 – Certified Blues
12 – Tube Snake Boogie

Pre order

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Ray says:

    That’s too bad. Was hoping for another, proper, studio lp from them one last time. What were they doing the years between La Futura and Hill’s death? Almost 10 years. Thanks for this. Probably will still buy it, but can’t see it being played much.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.