AYREON – Ayreon Universe ; Best Of Ayreon Live (2018)

AYREON - Ayreon Universe ; Best Of Ayreon Live (2018) full

AYREON Universe ; The Best of Ayreon Live, alternatively known as simply Ayreon Universe, is an upcoming live album and DVD / Blu-ray by Arjen Anthony Lucassen’s progressive rock / metal rock opera project Ayreon, to be released on March 30, 2018.
Unlike Ayreon’s first live album The Theater Equation, which was a stage performance of the album The Human Equation, Ayreon Universe was performed as a traditional concert, with two additional songs from Star One, another project by Lucassen.

“Ayreon Universe” it’s a proof that you should never say ‘never’. After creating rock operas in the studio for more than 20 years, prog mastermind Arjen Lucassen, aka Ayreon, finally took his Universe to the stage in September 2017.
Three shows sold out within hours after annoucing. 9000+ Fans from all corners of the world flocked to the 013 venue in Tilburg, the Netherlands to see this long-awaited show live.
This unique performance features 16 singers, 28 songs, an 8 piece band and a special appearance by Arjen, lasting over 2 hours.

What I really liked about “Ayreon Universe” is its nature: not a concept / rock opera that you have to follow up: in fact this is a Greatest Hits.
You get the best songs / compositions from Arjen Lucassen’s career, featuring numbers from all Ayreon albums, including 2017’s ‘The Source’, plus a few fan favorites from Star One.

An amazing array of singers appear to bring the Ayreon Universe to life: Floor Jansen (Nightwish), Damian Wilson (Threshold), Hansi Kursch (Blind Guardian), Tommy Karevik (Kamelot), Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gentle Storm), Marco Hietala (Nightwish), Jonas Renkse (Katatonia), Mike Mills (Toehider), Marcela Bovio (Stream of Passion), Irene Jansen, Robert Soeterboek (Star One), John Jaycee Cuijpers (Praying Mantis), Edward Reekers (Kayak), Jay van Feggelen, Maggy Luyten (Nightmare) and Lisette van den Berg (Scarlet Stories).

AYREON - Ayreon Universe ; Best Of Ayreon Live (2018) back

At first glance it looks like too much material to enjoy at one listen. Well, let me tell you that both discs flow easily.
“Ayreon Universe” benefits from its ‘song format’. Most compositions have been reduced in length and, additionally, the best and more catchy were selected from the juicy Ayreon discography.
A very enjoyable, Best Of release.

CD 1:
01 – Prologue
02 – Dreamtime
03 – Abbey of Synn
04 – River of Time
05 – The Blackboard
06 – The Theory of Everything
07 – Merlin’s Will
08 – Waking Dreams
09 – Dawn of a Million Souls
10 – Valley of the Queens
11 – Ride the Comet
12 – Star of Sirrah
13 – Comatose
14 – Day Sixteen: Loser
15 – And the Druids Turned to Stone

CD 2:
01 – The Two Gates
02 – Into the Black Hole
03 – Actual Fantasy
04 – Computer Eyes
05 – Magnetism
06 – Age of Shadows
07 – Intergalactic Space Crusaders
08 – Collision
09 – Everybody Dies
10 – The Castle Hall
11 – Amazing Flight in Space
12 – Day Eleven: Love
13 – The Eye of Ra

Floor Jansen – Nightwish
Damian Wilson – Threshold
Hansi Kürsch – Blind Guardian
Tommy Karevik – Kamelot
Anneke van Giersbergen – The Gentle Storm
Marco Hietala – Nightwish
Jonas Renkse – Katatonia
Mike Mills – Toehider
Marcela Bovio – Stream of Passion
Irene Jansen – Ayreon
Robert Soeterboek – Star One
John Jaycee Cuijpers – Praying Mantis
Edward Reekers – Kayak
Jay van Feggelen – Ayreon
Maggy Luyten – Nightmare
Lisette van den Berg – Scarlet Stories

Ed Warby – Drums
Johan van Stratum – Bass
Marcel Coenen – Lead guitar
Ferry Duijsens – Guitar
Joost van den Broek – Keyboards
Ben Mathot – Violin
Jeroen Goossens – Flutes, woodwinds
Maaike Peterse – Cello

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.