ODYSSEY DESPERADO – Don’t Miss The Sunset (2018)

ODYSSEY DESPERADO - Don't Miss The Sunset (2018) full

ODYSSEY DESPERADO will release “Don’t Miss The Sunset”, their debut with Lions Pride Music, tomorrow March 30th , 2018.
The project started by Greek musician Odysseas Karapolitis in 2014, got ready its debut CD produced by multi-talented producer Bob Katsionis (Outloud, Firewind), featuring the legendary Paul Laine (ex- Danger Danger) on backing vocals.

The whole album smells late 80’s melodic hard rock / AOR from the hooks to the choruses, and opener ‘Rush Of The Wave’ confirms the influences: European and American, fusing hard rock with melody and a pinch of AOR.
What really pleases you at first listen iis its naturalness: nothing in Odyssey Desperado feels forced, it just flow. And works greatly.

‘You And Me Against The World’ reminds of Danger Danger at their best with a big chorus ready to make you sing-a-long for days. The guitars by Odysseas are sharp, crunchy, inspired and everything in this track sounds perfect.
‘Cruisin’ slows the pace for a solid midtempo AOR, while ‘Dreams Die Hard’ sounds like a lost track from Paul Laine solo album, or even Bon Jovi. It’s time for the first ballad with title track ‘Don’t Miss The Sunset’, and later with ‘Can’t Live Without You’, both very well crafted.

‘Holding On To A Dream’ is just pure melodic hard rock bliss, period! A fast-paced melodic rocker that takes no prisoners with with a killer hookline, amazing performances, the necessary late 80’s vibe and guitar solo that leaves you breathless.
If you need more AOR, just check the keyboard-driven ‘Oasis (Desert Of Your Soul)’ one of my favorites, then ‘Holding On To A Dream’ is really smooth bringing to mid the late David A. Saylor.

Odyssey Desperado’s “Don’t Miss The Sunset” is ne of the surprises of the year. We already tasted the first single in our Advanced Singles samplers, and it was really promising.
Now listening to the whole album, I can say the quality keeps strong from track to track, in fact I liked all the songs. A lot.
This is classy Melodic Hard / AOR, with ‘that’ vibe… you know what I mean.

01 – Rush of the Wave
02 – You and Me Against the World
03 – Cruisin’
04 – Dreams Die Hard
05 – Can’t Live Without You
06 – Oasis (In the Desert of Your Soul)
07 – Holding on to a Dream
08 – Fragile
09 – Tomorrow You’ll Be Gone
10 – Wings of Silk

Odyssey Desperado – Lead & Rhythm Guitars
Bob Katsionis – Bass, Keyboards & Programming
Manos Fatsis – Lead Vocals
Paul Laine – Background Vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.