AVANTASIA – The Metal Opera part II [Japan SHM-CD Cardboard Sleeve Ltd.] (2019)

AVANTASIA - The Metal Opera part II [Japan SHM-CD Cardboard Sleeve Ltd.] (2019) full

For the first time, the two volumes of Tobias Sammet’s AVANTASIA “The Metal Opera” are being released on high quality SHM-CD in Japan. This “The Metal Opera Part II” carry on the story begun in The Metal Opera first album, with the same characters.

For the uninitiated with these 2 Avantasia first albums, “The Metal Opera” actually isn’t operatic but rocking.
Tobias Sammet wanted a more elaborated songwriting than the standard work with his band at the moment (Edguy), so in Avantasia the instrumentation is intricate, with an electric, metallic sound, and the choruses huge, and catchy.

“The Metal Opera” is a truly epic adventure which unfolds itself in a great storytelling.
The story is about Gabriel (Sammet), a novice cleric and his quest to be reunited with his childhood sweetheart Anna, while he starts to lose faith in the catholic church that he is meant to serve.

The album features brilliant, I repeat, brilliant vocals from several of the greatest vocalists in metal, including Michael Kiske of Helloween as Gabriels guide – the druid Vandroiy, Sharon Den Adel of Within Temptation as Anna, Oliver Hartmann as the Pope, and the great Rob Rock (ex-Axel Rudi Pell, Driver, Impellitteri) as Bishop Johann von Bicken, among others.

AVANTASIA - The Metal Opera part II [Japan SHM-CD Cardboard Sleeve Ltd.] (2019) back

Also, The Metal Opera has a story that the listener can follow without having to read the lyrics / story, which, btw, if you need it, this Japanese has a complete 16-page booklet.
An excellent piece of work you need to hear.
HIGHLY Recommended

Victor Entertainment JapanMICP-30099 【LTD SHM-CD

01 – The Seven Angels
02 – No Return
03 – The Looking Glass
04 – In Quest For
05 – The Final Sacrifice
06 – Neverland
07 – Anywhere
08 – Chalice of Agony
09 – Memory
10 – Into the Unknown

Tobias Sammet (Edguy) – Keyboards, Bass, Vocals
Henjo Richter (Gamma Ray) – Guitars
Markus Grosskopf (Helloween) – Bass
Alex Holzwarth (Rhapsody of Fire) – Drums

Michael Kiske (ex-Helloween, Place Vendome, Unisonic)
David DeFeis (Virgin Steele)
Ralf Zdiarstek
Sharon den Adel (Within Temptation)
Rob Rock (ex-Axel Rudi Pell, Driver, Impellitteri)
Oliver Hartmann (ex-At Vance)
Andre Matos (ex-Angra, ex-Viper)
Kai Hansen (ex-Helloween, Gamma Ray, Unisonic)
Timo Tolkki (ex-Stratovarius)
Bob Catley (Magnum)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.