DOGFACE – From The End To The Beginning (2019)

DOGFACE - From The End To The Beginning (2019) full

DOGFACE, lead by talented Swede Martin Kronlund, have recently called it a day and this new CD titled “From The End To The Beginning” to be released tomorrow packs the best songs of their three releases, re-mastered and re-mixed by Kronlund itself.
With excellent shouter Mats Levén at the mic, the Swedes have got a remarkable legacy as especially songs like “A Single Reason“ or “Footsteps On The Moon“ easily prove.

Around 1998 Kronlund had a few song ideas with roots in the 70s and 80s Hard Rock genre. Thin Lizzy was the main influence for Martin, but also Deep Purple, Rainbow and classy acts of this ilk. He started to write songs with other friends in this blended genre and planted a seed for what became Dogface.
Martin contacted Anders Skoog who was involved with earlier projects like Gypsy Rose. Anders recently bought a Hammond C3 organ, and this was the right sound for Dogface. Patrik Engelbrektsson and Stefan Egeman where invited to join the group on drums and bass.

Recordings for the first album started in 1998. A few singers where involved but something was missing. Anders contacted Mats Levén who he had worked with him before in different projects. Mats came to the studio and recorded ”You’re Taking me Down” as the first song.
It sounded amazing and Dogface were thrilled by his way of singing Hard Rock and his Glenn Hughes influences.

Thanks to Magnus Söderqvist, the Swedish group signed a deal with German record company MTM Music and released ”Dogface Unleashed”. This album was rated by several reviewers as the ‘best Melodic Hard Rock release in Europe’ in the year of 2000.
Later in the same year, the recordings for the second album ”In Control” began.

Kronlund had opened a new, huge studio and also invested in a classic SSL 4000E console. Levén had also cut his hair, so this all marked a new, fresh beginning for the second Dogface album.
After this release a long brake for the Dogface followed until they recorded ”Back On The Streets” in 2013. Members were changed, but the core of Kronlund and Levén remained as the band’s driving force.

DOGFACE - From The End To The Beginning (2019) inside

With Kronlund involved into many projects and very busy producing for others, he decided to put DogFace to rest.
He say: “We are very proud of what we have accomplished and want to thank our fans and believers for all the great years. The new release “From The End To The Beginning” now is a compilation with material from the three albums with the songs that we feel represents the DogFace sound the best. We hope that you feel the same!”.

And he has done a great job selecting the best tunes from this talented, highly underrated band.
Songs such as the groovy “Don’T”, the soaring melodic hard rocker “A Single Reason”, the classy “Footsteps on the Moon”, the midtempo class of “I Will Be There”, the killer “Right Between Your Lies”, or melodic bliss “You’re Taken Me Down” are tunes to die for, all plenty of awesome hooks and top class vocals.
HIGHLY Recommended

01. Don’T
02. Not Wanted
03. A Single Reason
04. I Will Be There
05. Sleeping With the Enemy
06. Footsteps on the Moon
07. Right Between the Lies
08. Alone Again
09. Can’t Face Tomorrow
10. You’re Taken Me Down
11. I Don’t Care
12. Leave This War
13. Spit It Out
14. Rule the Night
15. Let It Out

Martin Kronlund – guitars
Anders Skoog – organ, keyboards
Patrik Engelbrektsson – drums
Stefan Egeman – bass
Mats Leven – vocals

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.