TOQUE – Never Enough (2019)

TOQUE - Never Enough (2019) full

TOQUE (pronounced ‘Took’) is a renowned Canadian hard rock band known for their ’80s songs cover shows. Enlisted in the ranks of Toque are Todd Kerns & Brent Fitz – both of whom play in Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators – along with Cory Churko (Shania Twain) and Shane Gaalaas (Michael Schenker, Yngwie).
This all-Canadian combo are releasing today their new album “Never Enough For You”, the first including original material (the title track) plus delicious own versions of Canadian melodic rock classics.

Technically, TOQUE got it’s start back in 2012 when Kerns, Fitz and Churko performed in Winnipeg for a charity event. The setlist was full of great ’80s tunes from the Canadian Rock factory. Then they decided to go on the road and the act became very successful.
They recorded an album with many of these covers, and now are releasing number 2, this time including the original song ‘Never Enough (For You)’, of course, with an ’80s melodic feel.

Most the songs chosen to cover here are from Canuck biggies like Rush (The Spirit of Radio), Streetheart (What Kind of Love Is This), Toronto (Enough Is Enough), etc, however also lesser known Saskatchewan bands such as Queen City Kids and their catchy tune ‘Down Again’.
There’s a cover of Bryan Adams too, but Toque chosen to do a song from his early days, titled ‘Remember’, and I like the result.

Their take on Prism’s awesome track ‘Armageddon’ is pretty killer, and it’s very cool to hear as well Harlequin’s ‘Innocence’ (I love this song) and Red Rider’s ‘Lunatic Fringe’.
And there’s a welcomed surprise; for the version of The Headpins’s ‘Don’t It Make Ya Feel’ the band asked original vocalist Darby Mills to sing it. Classic stuff.

You can’t go wrong with TOQUE’s song selection and performances, all seasoned musicians and all recorded, mixed & produced with that classy ‘Canadian touch’.
You’ll love this.


01 – Armageddon (Prism)
02 – Innocence (Harlequin)
03 – Never Enough (For You) – original song
04 – Ironic (Alanis Morissette)
05 – Enough Is Enough (Toronto)
06 – The Spirit of Radio (Rush)
07 – Down Again (Queen City Kids)
08 – Lunatic Fringe (Red Rider)
09 – Don’t It Make Ya Feel – feat Darby Mills (The Headpins)
10 – What Kind of Love Is This (Streetheart)
11 – Remember (Bryan Adams)
12 – Hot Child in the City (Nick Gilder)
13 – Armageddon Reprise

Cory Churko – guitarist & musical director for Shania Twain and Kelly Clarkson
Todd ‘Dammit’ Kerns – lead vocalist/guitarist for Slash.
Brent Fitz – drummer and bassist for Slash, Alice Cooper, Vince Neil
Shane Gaalaas – drummer for Yngwie Malmsteen, Uli Roth, Michael Schenker



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. TheMurf says:

    As a Canadian your guide for pronunciation is a little off. Togue would be more like To-ook or To-ouk. You really have to live here and wear one to learn how to correctly pronounce it. It is as our southern neighbours call it: a beanie or wool cap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.