KING KING – Maverick [Deluxe Edition +5] (2020)

KING KING - Maverick [Deluxe Edition +5] (2020) full

With their just released studio album number five “Maverick“, British bluesy hard rockers KING KING deliver yet another superlative demonstration of songwriting prowess – a bit of FREE here, a smidge of early WHITESNAKE there, a dash of BAD COMPANY for good measure – led from the front by guitarist/ vocalist Alan Nimmo.
Recorded with a new line-up, ”Maverick” nevertheless sounds like a band that’s been together forever, with cohesive performances meshing together perfectly across the entire track list.
If there’s any specific change to speak of, it’s probably a gentle shift away from overt blues into more classic hard rock territory – a bit more THUNDER, perhaps – but otherwise it’s business as usual.

The ballads ‘By Your Side’ and ‘When My Winter Comes’ are excellent, while the vibe on ‘Fire In My Soul’, ‘Never Give In’, ‘Dance Together’, ‘I Will Not Fall’ and ‘One World’ is one of defiance and heartfelt optimism.
King King’s fifth album ”Maverick” is a right royal triumph of classic British rock n’ roll.
Highly Recommended


01 – Never Give In
02 – Fire in My Soul
03 – Whatever It Takes to Survive
04 – I Will Not Fall
05 – By Your Side
06 – One World
07 – Everything Will Be Alright
08 – When My Winter Comes
09 – Dance Together
10 – End of the Line
11 – Never Give In (Live at Berkeley Studios)
12 – Lose Control (Live at Berkeley Studios)
13 – Rush Hour (Live at Berkeley Studios)
14 – Coming Home (Live at Berkeley Studios)
15 – I Will Not Fall (Live at Berkeley Studios)

Alan Nimmo (vocals/guitar)
Stevie Nimmo (guitar)
Jonny Dyke (organ/piano)
Zander Greenshields (bass)
Andrew Scott (drums)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.