BIG CITY – Testify X (2021)

BIG CITY - Testify X (2021) full

Testify X” is the first BIG CITY album for their new label Frontiers Music. The melodic metal / hard rock band from Norway was originally put together by guitarist and songwriter Daniel Olaisen. His plan was to use a vast amount of song ideas and ’80s influenced guitar riffs that he had stockpiled over the years for a batch of songs with the right players.
Frank Ørland, who also played with Daniel in SCARIOT, was an obvious choice to bring to Big City as the second guitarist. Frank Nordeng Røe (Withem, Maraton, session drummer for CIRCUS MAXIMUS) was brought after being discovered by Daniel via some internet research. The band was then completed with strong vocalist Jan Le Brandt and Geir Inge Olsen on bass.

The band’s debut album, “Wintersleep”, was initially released in 2014 and later on re-released by the Greek label Rock of Angels in 2018 as part of a deluxe edition of their second album, Big City Life. Big City played their very first live shows the same month of the international release, including Norway Rock Festival and Rock the Boat with Miguel Pereira (Withem) joining the band as their new permanent bass player.

In 2019, the band started working on a new album and brought in a new singer, Jørgen Bergersen from Rock the Night (Europe cover band) and the new demos caught the interest of Frontiers who moved swiftly to sign the band.

“The new album will introduce our new singer. He’s done an incredible job and there’s more punch and heaviness in his voice. The songs are still varied, from super chill ballad to heavy and light-progressive tunes. Melodies are still in focus and there’s plenty of that, as expected. It’s simply the best Big City album so far!” says Daniel Olaisen.


01 – The Rush
02 – Dark Rider
03 – Testify
04 – I Will Fall
05 – Running Away
06 – Conception
07 – Winds of the Road
08 – Heart’s Like a Lion
09 – Graveyard Love
10 – How Dark Does It Get

Jørgen Bergersen – Vocals
Daniel Olaisen – Rhythm, lead and acoustic guitars
Frank Ørland – Lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars
Frank Nordeng Røe – Drums and percussion
Miguel Pereira – Bass


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.