VELVET INSANE – Rock ‘N’ Roll Glitter Suit (2021)

VELVET INSANE - Rock 'N' Roll Glitter Suit (2021) full

A few years back Sweden unleashed their latest-coolest cultural export, VELVET INSANE, an outrageously named glam band so hopelessly devoted to their glitter pop idols that they essentially transcended any rip-off allegations and became their very own thing.
To say they sound like Hanoi Rocks and Backyard Babies is so obvious that it’s completely besides the point. They’re basically the new version of both bands.
Formed in 2013 by guitarist Jesper Lindgren and describe themselves as a three-piece gang of rockers that reinvented glam rock by mixing the pop harmonies of the 70s with the heavy sound of today.
You can hear all that on their new album, “Rock ‘N’ Roll Glitter Suit” which title is pretty explicit.

There have been changes in personnel and switches in record companies along the way but the band’s fortunes received a significant boost when they signed to a deal with Wild Kingdom/Sound Pollution earlier this year.
So “Rock ‘N’ Roll Glitter Suit” is their ‘major’ exposure world-wide.

All over the 11 songs there’s a massive attack of stack-heel strutting, full of delightfully cheese-ball boa-scarf anthems like ‘Backstreet Liberace’ (featuring Dregen from Backyard Babies and Nicke from Hellacopters), the ’80s power-poppy ‘Sailing On A Thunderstorm’, sex-bleating rave-up ‘Space Age DJ’, and the piano-plinking ‘Driving Down The Mountain’.

You clearly know what you’re getting from this band, from the first early Kiss / Faces / Bolan-esque riff to the last tambourine shake and Slade-like verses.
If you want something heavy, thousands of other bands can sort you out. But if you need something bright-eyed and breezy to soundtrack a quick trip to the beach, either real or imagined, this is as pure a dose of skinny-ass rock ‘n’ roll as any chill-seeker could wish for.
It’s about having a good time, all the time, and nothing else. And that’s alright by me.


01 – Driving Down the Mountain
02 – Backstreet Liberace (feat Nicke Andersson & Dregen)
03 – Jaded Eyes
04 – Velvet Tongue
05 – Sound of Sirens
06 – Riding the Skyways
07 – Spin on Crazy Moon
08 – Sailing on a Thunderstorm
09 – Midnight Sunshine Serenade
10 – Space Age DJ
11 – You’re the Revolution

Jonas Eriksson – Vocals
Jesper Lindgren – Guitar, Harmonica
Niklas Henriksson – Bass, Vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.