TNA – TNA [Eonian Records remastered reissue +7] (2023)

TNA - TNA [Eonian Records remastered reissue +7] (2023) - full

Originally reissued / remastered by Eonian Records a decade ago and sold out, now 2023 the label is re-releasing TNA‘s self-titled album with the addition of 7 bonus tracks and new artwork.
TNA hails from Memphis, Tennessee and their bluesy Hard Rock was far away from the flashy Sunset Strip scene that was happening at the time when these tracks were recorded between 1989-90. They started out as a cover band, but soon turned their collective attention to writing originals, influenced by classic rock ‘n roll acts focused on delivering heavy hitting riffs that got straight to the point, but with a strong sense of melody and song structures which underlines their blues roots originated in Memphis.
To get a picture of TNA style, think Tesla ‘Great Radio Controversy’ era, evident on many tracks as “All Nite Long”, “Don’t Look Back” or “Bump & Grind”.

“Don’t Fade Away” has a very melodic line inspired by earlier Sebastian Bach’s Skid Row. The guitar solo is meaty and the whole song is filled with very nice vocal harmonies. They definitely sound like late Aerosmith on the smokin’, very blues-driven bar rocker “I’m Already Gone”, featuring a very special arrangement in the middle of the song. Really good.

“Dirty Love”, “Hard Way” and “You Cried Wolf” are influenced by the L.A. scene with some sleazy swagger on it, with hooky choruses and cool refrains. TNA speeds things up a bit and rocks convincingly on the catchy “Hard Way” and “Take A Walk”, the latter remind me the more Aerosmith influenced Guns N’ Roses.
“It’s Over” is a great mid-tempo ballad with tons of feeling. The atmosphere captured into the studio is sooth an hazy with a sound in the style of the best Great White.

TNA’s self titled album comprises tracks from different 89-90 session recordings, and although the production quality vary, all are professionally done.
The first thing that impress you is the excellent musicianship, specially the hot guitar work and the solid rhythm section. Jeff Harr is a strong singer and his voice has a special tone, a bit like Jeff Keith from Tesla, but with a tongue-in-cheek twist.
This is a very good collection of Rock ‘N Roll songs, from a band that had all to make it big.
Better late than never.
Highly Recommended


1. All Nite Long
2. Bump & Grind
3. Dirty Love
4. Don’t Fade Away
5. Don’t Look Back
6. Hard Way
7. I’m Already Gone
8. It’s Over
9. Just Another Day
10. It Don’t Come Easy
11. Take A Walk
12. You Cried Wolf
13. Can’t Rape The Willing
14. Crazy For Your Love
15. Dus Enin (Right Now!)
16. Gossip
17. Sho Don’t Wanna
18. You
19. Folsom Prison Blues (Live At The Warehouse)

Jeffrey Harr – Lead Vocals on all tracks
Randi-Mike Field – Guitar on Tracks 1,3,4,5,7,9,11,12,19
Wayne Swinny – Guitar on Tracks 2,3,6,8,10,13-19
Eric Lewis – Guitar on Tracks 1,4,5,7,9,11,12
Kelly McDonald – Bass on Tracks 1,4,5,7,1,11,12
Michael Gumm – Bass on Tracks 2,3,6,8,10,13-19
Eddie Matlock – Drums on all tracks



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.