ASIA – Astra [Limited Platinum SHM-CD Universal Japan] *HQ*

ASIA - Astra [Ltd. Platinum SHM-CD Universal Japan] lossless full

As requested, ASIA classic albums at maximum quality, here’s the Universal Japan remastered reissue of one of the band’s 1985’s “Astra“, a Special Edition pressed on a wonderful sounding Platinum SHM-CD. “Astra” is the band’s third offering, the final studio album (excluding half studio / half compilation album Then & Now) to feature original member John Wetton until 2008’s reunion album ‘Phoenix’, and first without guitarist Steve Howe.

While somewhat unfairly regarded in comparison to Asia’s first two albums, “Astra” is nonetheless a solid rocking outing that finds bassist / vocalist John Wetton, keyboardist Geoff Downes, drummer Carl Palmer, and replacement guitarist, Krokus’ Mandy Meyer, delivering a set of melodic and driving rock anthems.

ASIA - Astra [Ltd. Platinum SHM-CD Universal Japan] (2014) booklet

Admittedly, “Astra” came on the heels of a tumultuous period for the band that found Wetton unceremoniously booted and replaced by ELP singer Greg Lake right before the highly publicized 1983 live televised concert event Asia in Asia.
By 1984, Wetton had been reinstated, but tensions remained and Howe eventually left the band early in the recording process for “Astra”.

Featuring a slightly more arena rock and pop-metal sound, “Astra” featured two Top Ten singles in the epic “Go” and the dramatic “Too Late”. Elsewhere, there was a handful of similarly radio-ready cuts, including the sparkling “Hard On Me,” the synth balladry of “Wishing” and the grand and symphonic rock theatrics of the very Queen-esque “Rock and Roll Dream”.

ASIA - Astra [Ltd. Platinum SHM-CD Universal Japan] (2014) back cover

Certainly, while Asia is at its best with the original line-up, “Astra” is a truly underrated ’80s Rock album and a must-hear for fans.
This Platinum SHM-CD just sounds awesome.



01 – Go
02 – Voice Of America
03 – Hard On Me
04 – Wishing
05 – Rock And Roll Dream
06 – Countdown To Zero
07 – Love Now Till Eternity
08 – Too Late
09 – Suspicion
10 – After The War

Geoff Downes – keyboards
Mandy Meyer – guitar
Carl Palmer – drums, percussion
John Wetton – vocals, bass, keyboards


Out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.