PHIL CAMPBELL and the Bastard Sons – Kings Of The Asylum (2023)

PHIL CAMPBELL and the Bastard Sons - Kings Of The Asylum (2023) - full

Originally formed as a side project towards the last couple of years of Motörhead by guitarist Phil Campbell,
PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS debuted at Wacken Open Air 2016 and a self-titled EP was released a few months later.
Led by one of the genre’s most respected guitarists and completed by his sons Todd, Tyla and Dane the band emerged onto the 2017 touring circuit powered by a huge amount of good will, a smattering of Motörhead covers and a handful of new songs that crackled with passion and swagger.
Now consolidated as a band, PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS will release their third full album titled “Kings Of The Asylum” next September. This is first the studio release to feature singer Joel Peters. You get eleven hard-hitting, honest-to-the-bone heavy rock cuts, including stand-out tracks such as the stadium rock hymn ‘Strike The Match’ and the fast paced banger ‘Too Much Is Never Enough’.
This is the definitive version of PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS – the band has further perfected its timeless yet invigorating in your face hard rock and they are looking forward to presenting their explosive new material live this autumn.

With Motörhead, Phil’s life has been tour / album / tour for the past 40 years and has produced some of the best music metal has to offer. He has instilled this work ethic into his three sons Todd, Tyla and Dane and along with vocalist Joel Peters, have produced a very strong new album.
There’s no grind about this album, just an easy flowing collection of songs that have been labored on but are in no way shape or form a labour to listen to. It’s fresh sounding but with a traditional edge that you won’t be disappointed by if you are familiar with any of Phil Campbell work – or classic hard rock in general.

This could be described as a party album as it kicks off with two rebel rousing rockers. ‘Walking in Circles’ and ‘Too Much is Never Enough’ really do get the party started. The pattern doesn’t change an awful lot as you progress through the album. AC/DC inspired riffs pepper this record. Joel’s vocals are desperate sounding and reaching to the very limit of his range. He adds a bit of soul to the record.

‘Strike the Match’ is an extremely radio-friendly song that could find its way on to mainstream playlists everywhere. In contrast ‘The Hunt’ is a proper hard-metallic song with a dirty double bass riff completed by a slower part at the end.
The band are helped by Phil Campbell being one of the most underrated guitar players both in riff writing and soloing and he doesn’t disappoint on either score during ”Kings of the Asylum”.
Talking of which the title track of the album is a bluesy run out. The album finishes with ‘Manic’ which is a Rock and Roll song with a slightly punky edge but could have been called something else.

They love writing rock and roll, they like playing rock and roll, they love recording rock and roll and they love rock and roll concerts. Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons don’t grind out performances, they relish in them.
They are dependable and faithful and you are never far from an opportunity to go and see them live or listen to their latest offering. I’m sure there will be a tour as long as your arm coming up followed by a festival run at the beginning and throughout next summer with some time off and who’s then to say that January 2025 sees the next offering in the Phil Campbell and Bastards Sons discography.
They definitely have the work ethic, they will definitely have the riffs from Phil so I see absolutely no reason why this won’t be the case.
Highly Recommended


01 – Walking In Circles
02 – Too Much Is Never Enough
03 – Hammer And Dance
04 – Strike The Match
05 – Schizophrenia
06 – Kings Of The Asylum
07 – The Hunt
08 – Show No Mercy
09 – No Guts! No Glory!
10 – Ghosts
11 – Maniac
12 – Monster

Phil Campbell – guitars
Todd Campbell – guitar, harmonica
Tyla Campbell – bass
Dane Campbell – drums
Joel Peters – lead vocals


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.