FREEWAYS – True Bearings (2023 reissue) *0dayrox Exclusive*

FREEWAYS - True Bearings (2023 reissue) *0dayrox Exclusive* - full

Canadian heavy rock… with a NWOBHM vibe. Indeed, FREEWAYS are a breath of fresh, northern air. Honoring the mystical undercurrents of so much classic Canadian rock of the past, the quartet’s foundation is firm upon the hot-rockin’ dynamics of ’70s giants like UFO, Thin Lizzy, and April Wine along with the idiosyncratic twists of the unsung heroes of the NWOBHM and pub rock eras. It’s a sound that’s immediately familiar but also immediately engaging, so richly rendered are these soul-stirring odes to wanderlust, melancholia, and “Survival” itself.

Originally released in 2020 on Canadian Temple of Mystery Records, their debut album “True Bearings” quickly sold out and together with their many great live performances, cemented FREEWAYS as one of the most exciting acts in the contemporary heavy rock scene.
Upon the recent and unfortunate dissolution of Temple of Mystery, Freeways’ debut album has been reissued 2023 by Dying Victims Music. They will also be putting out their sophomore album next year.
“True Bearings” is just an amazing piece of retro awesomeness. Miss the days of real NWOBHM, Thin Lizzy’s twin guitar groove and the like? Hear this album and be blown away by the sheer time warp you will experience.

”True Bearings” roves wild terrain, its push ‘n’ pull stirs the spirit, but never belabors the point; each of these streamlined songs is anchored to a plaintive, poignant hook, tastefully embellished with subtly delicate touches that proves Freeways as masters of mood.
The quartet’s interplay is untouchable here, given that their chosen idiom is the more-or-less hard(er) end of rock, exhibiting class and poise every step of the way, but perhaps no better evinced than on the near-seven-minute vamp of “Time is No Excuse.”

Thus, space and shade and rocking hard coexist in the Freeways world, and True Bearings is a highway worth cruising time and time again.
These young blokes have a love for classic rock – and it’s a delight, going to put a smile on your dial for sure.
Highly Recommended


01 – Eternal Light, Eternal Night
02 – Sorrow (Love in Vain)
03 – True Bearings
04 – Dead Air
05 – Battered & Bruised
06 – Time Is No Excuse
07 – Just Survival
08 – Dark Sky Sanctuary
09 – Stray Into Yesterday
10 – Spark Eliminator

Guitar & Vocals – Jacob Montgomery
Guitar – Domenic Innocente
Bass – Amarjot Amrith
Drums – Matthew Avenins



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.