V.A. – Heard It On The Radio Volume 3 [Renaissance Records rarities] (2022) *Exclusive*

V.A. - Heard It On The Radio Volume 3 [Renaissance Records rarities] (2022) *Exclusive* - full

“Heard It On The Radio” CD series were released by the now disappeared Renaissance label comprising long lost 45 rpm singles from the late Seventies / earlier Eighties never obtainable on digital format before.
Ironically, few or these were radio hits – in fact, many of them are rather obscure – but should have been. Additionally, some of these are rare single mixes, video-mix versions, etc.
The prime intention of the label was to rescue from oblivion these good ’80s songs and made them available in good audio quality not only for musicologists and archivists, but for true lovers of the AOR / rock&pop that once ruled FM radio airwaves.

There were 3 volumes, the first published in 1998, and Vol. 2 & 3 the subsequent year. In 2011 Renaissance regrouped as RDEG and put out digital versions of many of its former CD-only releases, including the first three volumes of ‘Heard It On The Radio’, but now not all tracks are available on streaming services due to many legal issues.
But in 2022 RDEG reissued ‘Heard It On The Radio Vol 1, 2 & 3’ on CD again (only in USA, though) with refreshed artwork. As requested here’s “Heard It On The Radio volume 3” in exclusive at 0dayrox.

All volumes are interesting and collectibles, but this “Heard It On The Radio volume 3” should be the best of the series because features very rare cuts and all are good.
DNA was a rare project produced by Spencer Proffer (Quiet Riot, WASP) and formed by Rick Derringer (vocals, guitar), Carmine Appice (drums) and Duane Hitchings (keyboards) in 1984, and their single “Doctors Of The Universe” is a really fun track (that somehow reminds of Night Ranger).

We also find Jim Steinman doing a pre-Meat Loaf version of “Rock and Roll Dreams Come True”, the cool Gary Myrick & The Figures “She Talks In Stereo”, and the very hard to find catchy rocker “It’s All Right, It’s O.K.” by Iowa-based band The Hawks, never released on CD as happens with many track here.
It’s always a pleasure to hear early Angel City, and we find here their great song “Marseilles” (later covered by many metal bands) in a single mix.

Another rarity is Pink Floyd’s drummer Nick Mason, moonlighted with 10cc guitarist Rick Finn on an album of mostly instrumentals with the exception of this disc’s “Lie For A Lie” which featured lead vocals from David Gilmour.
Of course there’s some well known names by AOR fans such as Boston members project Orion The Hunter, Hughes-Thrall, Trillion and many more.
A highly enjoyable compilation of forgotten, but awesome tunes.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Doctors Of The Universe [DNA]
02 – Marseilles [Angel City]
03 – Edge Of Sundown [Danny Joe Brown Band]
04 – Fallen Angel [Roque]
05 – So You Run [Orion The Hunter]
06 – Maybe It’s You [Great Buildings]
07 – The Look In Your Eye [Glenn Hughes, Thrall]
08 – Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through [Jim Steinman]
09 – What’s Right [David Werner]
10 – Out Of My Hands [Face To Face]
11 – It’s All Right, It’s O.K. [The Hawks]
12 – She Sheila [The Producers]
13 – Strange Dreams [Frank Marino]
14 – She Talks In Stereo [Gary Myrick]
15 – Lie For A Lie [Rick Fenn, Nick Mason]
16 – Make Time For Love [Trillion]
17 – I’m Leaving [Taxxi]
18 – Rock It Out [Pia Zadora]



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can you please find vol 6 so I can complete the set, thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.