MESSANO – Messano [Deluxe Edition Remastered +5]

MESSANO - Messano [Deluxe Edition Remastered +5] (2019) full

Originally released in 1989, cult melodic rock album Messano got a 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition remastered reissue by Divebomb Records, including 5 bonus tracks.
The decades-long career of respected guitarist Bobby MESSANO picked up steam in the mid-to-late-’70s with acts such as Stanky Brown and Starz. Gravitating toward session work around 1980, Bobby would contribute to albums from a range of different artists — Peter Criss, Joe Lynn Turner, all Fiona ’80s albums, Tycoon, etc — as well as touring alongside heavyweights like Steve Winwood, Lou Gramm, and more.

For a portion of that era, Bobby had also joined rockers Franke & The Knockouts, performing (and co-writing two tracks) on their 1984 album, Makin’ The Point.
Toward the end of the ’80s, MESSANO also stepped up to present his debut solo album, having assembled a backing band consisting of bass player Erik Boyd (Denaro), Joey Zee (keyboards), and ex Point Blank’s Mike Gage (drums).
Ex Rainbow Chuck Burgi guest drums on one track, and other fellow session musicians contribute as well.

Recorded with Jim Barg at The Barge Sound Studio in Wayne, NJ, Bobby handled lead vocals, guitar, bass, and the bulk of the songwriting. That being said, two cuts nodded to his past: “Hide Our Love Away (Tell Me Why)” was first recorded by Franke & The Knockouts under the title “Carrie Why?,” and “Sing It, Shout It” was a Starz cover from 1977.
Other standout tracks are “Hide Our Love”, the catchy “Don’t Tell Me It’s Over”, and midtempo “You And I (Are Forever)”. For more edge, check out “Sing It, Shout It”, and “Face Behind The Axe”, showcasing Bobby’s skills with the 6-strings.

Released by Strategic —a division of Relativity Records— in 1989, this 11-song album has become a bit of a cult classic over the years for fans of top-shelf, hook-fueled melodic hard rock.
30 years later, “Messano” gets a proper remastering reissued with a whopping five bonus tracks.
Bobby Messano wouldn’t release another solo album until 1998 —the blues-based Dominion Roads— but has remained an active and highly regarded force in the Rock community since that time.
Highly Recommended


01 – Hide Our Love Away (Tell Me Why)
02 – Sing It, Shout It
03 – You And I (Are Forever)
04 – Rock & Roll Heaven
05 – Stand And Fight
06 – Don’t Tell Me It’s Over
07 – Hot N’ Heavy
08 – Rock Out
09 – (On The) Firing Line
10 – Four Play
11 – Face Behind The Axe
12 – Good Girls Gone Bad
13 – Ready To Rock Tonight
14 – I’ll Be There
15 – Sleepless Nights
16 – Every Little Thing

Bobby Messano – Vocals, Guitar, Bass
Erik Boyd – Bass
Joey Zee – Keyboards
Mike “Hurricane” Gage – Drums
Chuck Burgi – Drums
Jimmy Clark – Drums
Donnie Kisselbach – add. Bass
Gary Corbett – add. Keyboards



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Neil Tudor says:

    Messano for a short while played with USA glamsters Starz………..and good to see he covers one of their songs here “Sing It Shout It”…..great album

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.