GUS G. (Ozzy Osbourne) – Brand New Revolution (2015)

GUS G. (Ozzy Osbourne) - Brand New Revolution (2015) full


GUS G. is mainly recognised as the guitarist for Firewind and Arch Enemy, but basically because he was handpicked by Ozzy Osbourne in to become his new lead axe-man.
Last year was the time for his solo debut – a very good one – and now he has help from the mighty Jeff Scott Soto, Elize Ryd of Amaranthe, Jacob Bunton (Adler) and the great Mats Leven (Candlemass, Treat, Yngwie) to lend their vocals to “Brand New Revolution“, Gus G. second solo album to be released tomorrow.

‘The Quest’ already pumps you up for what is yet to come on the album. It’s the only instrumental on the CD, and absolutely incredible. An action-packed, energetic introduction that fades out softly into the album title track as Bunton sings on that as well as ‘Burn and We Are One’.
All of these have a savage hard rock sound that stamps its way along the audio waves that are shooting through your speakers with excellent solos (what else would you expect?) that sizzle your brain like bacon on a grill.
Elize Ryd lends her vocals on ‘What Lies Below’, adding some aggression and crunch to the album, making way for the ballad ‘Behind Those Eyes’.
Jeff Scott Soto provides his legendary voice on ‘Gone To Stay’, returning to the hard rock vibe Bunton provides along with ‘One More Try’. This song with some AOR feel is sandwiched between ballads, superb strong ballads to be precise.

‘Come Hell or High Water’ is the first song to feature Mats Leven, possibly one of my favourite cuts on the album, along with his last two ‘If It Ends Today’ and ‘The Demon Inside’. His vocals screeching through these songs something to behold, as it is with the vocalists on this album.
If ‘It Ends Today’ is added to the soft rock list, as the ballads on this album aren’t cheesy it makes this album essential.
Jeff Scott Soto has one last song with ‘Generation G’ that is in between the latter two of Leven’s tunes, a song that has a similar vibe to Youth Gone Wild by Skid Row when it comes to uniting a group of people one way or another, it’s uplifting. Great one.
The dark and stormy ‘The Demon Inside’ finishes this album with slow tempo, crunching riffs and a catchy chorus, another highlight.

GUS G. (Ozzy Osbourne) - Brand New Revolution (2015) inside

“Brand New Revolution” is a remarkable listen, driven by a terrific guitar work but focused on the songs, very good hard rockin’ songs.
Gus G’s incredible talent shifts through the album but all feels like a real band, with a tight rhythm section courtesy of Marty O’ Brien (Lita Ford band) on bass and Jo Nunez (Firewind) on drums.
It’s great blend of hard rock and power ballads often made me think of modern Whitesnake, but only for the mix of moods, not the sound. The vocalists are an absolute treat to listen (especially Soto and Leven), and with the excellent co-production / mix by Mike Fraser (Metallica, Van Halen, Aerosmith), this is a winner.

“Brand New Revolution” does everything perfectly to show that Gus G. is a complete, talented musician who has fired out a monstrous, kick ass rocking album.
Highly Recommended.

01. The Quest
02. Brand New Revolution (feat. Jacob Bunton)
03. Burn (feat. Jacob Bunton)
04. We Are One (feat. Jacob Bunton)
05. What Lies Below (feat. Elize Ryd)
06. Behind Those Eyes (feat. Jacob Bunton)
07. Gone To Stay (feat. Jeff Scott Soto)
08. One More Try (feat. Jacob Bunton)
09. Come Hell Or High Water (feat. Mats Levén)
10. If It Ends Today (feat. Mats Levén)
11. Generation G (feat. Jeff Scott Soto)
12. The Demon Inside (feat. Mats Levén)

Gus G. – Guitars, Bass, Keyboards
Marty O’ Brien (Lita Ford band) – bass
Jo Nunez (Firewind) – drums
guest Vocals:
Jeff Scott Soto (Yngwie, Talisman)
Elize Ryd (Amaranthe)
Jacob Bunton (Adler)
Mats Levén (Candlemass, Treat, Yngwie)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.