ADRENALIZE – Adrenalize (2016)

ADRENALIZE - Adrenalize (2016) full

With a band name ADRENALIZE and an initial look at their self-titled album cover sporting girl legs in fishnet stockings & boots one might expect a melodic hard rock / ’80s hair metal oriented effort from this German band.
However, Adrenalize are quite far from that genres and in fact play an enjoyable brand of classic hard rock.

Although the band was formed few years ago, the music, vocals and the overall feeling evokes the glory days of stadium classic rock / hard with some late ’70s elements, but always from the melodic side of these genres, not the heavier.
If you like traditional hard rock vocals (sometimes high pitched) with a real classic rock sound, Adrenalize will likely be just what you are looking for.
The first three songs on “Adrenalize” are among the stronger on the CD with lots of great melodies and a consistent pace throughout.

After the short intro, ‘Rock and Roll’ put things clear what this band is all about, its title says all. ‘Breakout’ rocks good with nice guitar work, and ‘Ship Of Fools’ is even better with its excellent dual guitar harmonies.
‘With You’ provides variation as this is a slower, midtempo semi-ballad in the early Eighties British style, yet the group rocks again soon with ‘Keep Holding On’, perhaps the more melodic hard rock tune on the album with a catchy chorus.
‘Hot Nights’ is the most ‘Americanized’ track here with a mid-Eighties touch, while ‘Bitter Pill’ deliver some scorching guitar solos towards the end.

ADRENALIZE - Adrenalize (2016) back

I actually appreciate that Adrenalize only put eight songs on their album because all of the tracks are good ones. After all, why fatten the tracklist with a couple of filler tracks when you don’t have to?
It’s solid classic hard rock with a vintage feel, and while at places the lead vocals are too much over the top, overall Adrenalize have served up some quality classic rock music on their debut album.
If you’re interested in purchasing the CD, it appears that the only way might be from the band directly and I think that would be money well spent if you like the genre.


01 – Intro
02 – Rock and Roll
03 – Breakout
04 – Ship of Fools
05 – Sirens Cry
06 – With You
07 – Keep Holding On
08 – Hot Nights
09 – Bitter Pill

Andreas Ellner – lead vocals, guitars, piano (5)
Michael Horn – guitar, backing vocals
Christoph Schmidt – bass, backing vocals
Markus Schrüfer – drums, backing vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.