BOBBY KIMBALL – Mysterious Sessions (2017)

BLACK ACES - Shot In The Dark [European CD version +3] (2016) full

Cleopatra Records has just released a Toto’s vocalist BOBBY KIMBALL new album titled “Mysterious Sessions“. In fact, these are not mysterious at all, as most the songs appeared years ago in some tribute albums, etc.
But it’s a very cool compilation to have all these Kimball performances (some really have to find) into one single CD, plus, there’s an unreleased Bobby Kimball cover of Level 42’s classic ‘Something About You’.

Apart from the covers of famous songs by bands such as Aerosmith, Journey, Pink Floyd, The Beatles, and more, we have Kimball’s unique take on 3 Toto megahits, including “Hold the Line” & “Rosanna”, recorded with an updated sound.

Alongside Kimball covering these songs there’s super musicians such as Mike Porcaro (Toto), Billy Sherwood (Yes), Patrick Moraz (The Moody Blues), Tony Kaye (Yes), Alan White (Yes), Derek Sherinian (ex Dream Theater), progressive legends Nektar and many more.

As said, results very nice to have all these Bobby Kimball performances into one CD, being sold at a very reasonable price. It has been written many times; Kimball may be singing the phone book and still would be interesting to hear.
Ah, and I love the album artwork.

01 – Hold the Line
02 – Have a Cigar (feat. B. Kulick, M. Porcaro & Greg Bissonette)
03 – Get Back (feat. Tony Kaye & Alan White)
04 – I’m Not in Love
05 – Who’s Crying Now (feat. Billy Sherwood)
06 – Africa (feat. Nektar & Patrick Moraz)
07 – Give a Little Bit
08 – The Dance (feat. Gary Griffin)
09 – What It Takes (feat. Mike Porcaro & Derek Sherinian)
10 – Something About You
11 – Please Come Home for Christmas
12 – Rosanna



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.