GLENN HUGHES – Addiction [2CD Remastered & Expanded Edition] (2017)

GLENN HUGHES - Addiction [2CD Remastered & Expanded Edition] (2017) full

Cherry Red / Hear No Evil Records has started a GLENN HUGHES reissue programme under the title The Glenn Hughes Remasters. Of particular interest is this “Addiction [2CD Remastered & Expanded Edition]“, Hughes’ harder rock sounding solo album, remastered and with lots of previously unreleased material.

Glenn Hughes‘ today’s omnipresence may grate many of those who can’t see it as a revivalist’s counterbalance to the veteran’s erstwhile being down on his luck. The singing bassist’s stints with Deep Purple and Black Sabbath ended with drug-related lapses, Trapeze reunions and collaboration with Gary Moore didn’t pan out either, but mid-’90s saw Glenn embrace his foibles and experiencing a sort of catharsis.
That’s where and when Hughes found the strength to become what he is now.

As Hughes made his way through the clean years, he seem compelled to stop and tell us a few tales from the darkside. Exorcising past demons in song as it were.
Unsurprisingly, this cathartic collection was titled “Addiction”.
Undeniably a hard ’n’ heavy rock album, in many ways it was a waste of Hughes – and excellent guitarist Marc Bonilla who performs, co-produces and co-wrote nine of the ten original songs – artistry as rock musicians.

“Addiction” has a very Nineties sound, heard in the pitch black darkness of ‘Down’ and title track ‘Addiction’, or the bruising hard rock of ‘Death Of Me’ and ‘Justified Man’.
‘Madeleine’ is more in the vein of past Hughes work, with a brilliant funk bass sound, while ‘Talk About It’ is arguably one of the best ballads Glenn has wrote in his prolific career.

CD1 – the “Addiction” remaster – includes 3 bonus tracks. And this is where the expanded edition truly comes alive. The two classic Trapeze songs, ‘Way back to the Bone’ and ‘Touch My Life’ are an absolute blast – larger than life rock songs, driven by the relentless rhythmic pulse of funk.

GLENN HUGHES - Addiction [2CD Remastered & Expanded Edition] (2017) back

And the second CD, featuring the previously unreleased performance taped in Holland, 1995, continues the journey through Hughes’ career highlights – ‘Stormbringer’ and ‘Burn’ from his Deep Purple tenure; ‘Coast To Coast’ and ‘You Are The Music’ from his time with Trapeze.
And the disc highlight: a tight, targeted version of ‘Muscle And Blood’, written by Hughes and Pat Thrall for their critically acclaimed, hard edged AOR album, released in 1982.

In most ways, “Addiction [2CD Remastered & Expanded Edition]” reaffirm what we already knew: Hughes is an immense talent.
Highly Recommended

DISC 1: Addiction remastered +3
01 – Death of Me
02 – Down
03 – Addiction
04 – Madeleine
05 – Talk About It
06 – I’m Not Your Slave
07 – Cover Me
08 – Blue Jade
09 – Justified Man
10 – I Don’t Want to Live That Way Again
11 – Way Back to the Bone
12 – Touch My Life
13 – You Fool No One

DISC 2: Live in Holland 14/07/1995
Previously Unreleased
01 – Stormbringer
02 – The Liar
03 – You Fool No One
04 – Muscle and Blood
05 – Push!
06 – This Time Around
07 – Coast to Coast
08 – You Are the Music
09 – Your Love Is Alright
10 – Getting’ Tighter
11 – Vocal Intro
12 – You Keep on Moving
13 – Burn

Glenn Hughes – Vocals, Bass
Marc Bonilla – Guitars, Keyboards
Joakim Marsh – Guitars
Joe Travers – Drums
R. Gaylor – Vocal Channeling
Sampo Axelsson – Bass (live)
Morgan Ågren – Drums (live)
Lasse Pollack – Keyboards (live)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.