FM – The Italian Job (2019)

FM - The Italian Job (2019) full

Frontiers Music have brought the world another great album from their 2018 Frontiers Rock Festival in Milan. This time starring ​FM​ and their incredible set that was in support of the band’s 10th studio album ​Atomic Generation​. The funnily titled “​The Italian Job”​ is another very good collaboration from the premium melodic rock festival and the UK’s favorite melodic rock band.

Offering a set list which pulled from not only their last two albums but also took fans back to the early days, FM created something that catered for everyone, older and young, could experience and enjoy.
The band have always been able to provide their fans with an outstanding performance and the sound of this live album is no different. Each member is on point and there are definitely times where you could easily forget that this is in fact a live recording and not a studio album. ​

Steve Overland​ shows that despite time has passed by, his vocal abilities are still just as strong as ever as he reach each note in perfect pitch and allows the passion to be heard through his voice. He is strongly backed by ​Merv Goldsworthy & ​Pete Jupp ​who provide the solid rhythm section and Jim Kirkpatrick precise guitar lines.

However a stand out moment from the album and set is the performance of “Story of My Life”. With ​Jem Davis​ providing the hauntingly beautiful melody on the keyboard and Overland’s clear emotion throughout the track, it is absolutely moving to hear. The response heard from the crowd only proves how much of an enchanting moment was created.

That’s not to say the rest of the album isn’t incredible to hear with some great upbeat tracks from “Black Magic” to “Killed By Love” which got some great crowd interaction.
Closing the set and album is classic “That Girl” and “Other Side of the Mountain” which seemed to be the right go with driving rhythms and the band doing what they do best.

FM - The Italian Job (2019) inside

With each live album that is released, fades away that idea that the quality is not as good as a studio album. ​FM ​have just added to that proof as this offering provides a fantastic selection of tracks and shows a band who can perform as well on stage as they can on a studio. ​
“The Italian Job” ​is a must have album for any FM fan, and a great listen for everyone.
Highly Recommended

1. Intro
2. Black Magic
3. I Belong To The Night
4. Life Is A Highway
5. Let Love Be The Leader
6. Someday
7. Killed By Love
8. Metropolis
9. Over You
10. Closer To Heaven
11. Does It Feel Like Love
12. Story Of My Life
13. Love Lies Dying
14. Bad Luck
15. Tough It Out
16. That Girl

Steve Overland – Vocals & Guitar
Merv Goldsworthy – Bass
Pete Jupp – Drums
Jem Davis – Keyboards
Jim Kirkpatrick – Guitar


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.