FM – Live Acoustical Intercourse [Japanese Edition] Out Of Print

FM - Live Acoustical Intercourse [Japanese Edition] Out Of Print full

Riding the wagon of the early ’90s ‘Unplugged albums’ success (Tesla, Eric Clapton, Queensryche) British AORsters FM also released their own CD recorded live at Studio 3, London. Titled ‘No Electricity Required’, its name speaks for itself.
This one was requested by one of you, but while there’s a pseudo ‘remastered version’ by the dubious reissue label Krescendo Records (avoid their products like a plague), we have chosen the very rare original Japanese Edition of the album curiously re-entitled “Live Acoustical Intercourse” for the Asian market.
As it used to happen – and in some cases still do – Japan pressings were way better than anything else.

Mixing own songs with rock classics tunes, what you have here is a stunner, polished and crystal clear performances with Steve Overland vocals at their peak.

There’s great versions of Bad Company’s ‘Seagull’ and ‘Little Bit of Love’, Fleetwood Mac’s ‘Need Your Love So Bad’, Joe Walsh’s ‘Rocky Mountain Way’, ZZ Top’s ‘Tush’ and even a contemporary but already a classic ‘Enter Sandman’ included into a medley.

FM - Live Acoustical Intercourse [Japanese Edition] Out Of Print disc

As said, while recorded ‘live into the studio’ and you can hear some claps from the selected audience, this recording sounds like a studio LP. There’s an obvious attention to detail, I guess some overdub, etc. FM members are perfectionists.
However, the band sounds natural, with a feel-good vibe, and all these songs come vital.

One of the highlights here is the stripped version of their song ‘Closer To Heaven’. The piano and the emotion of Overland’s inspired performance makes it better than the original.

FM - Live Acoustical Intercourse [Japanese Edition] Out Of Print back

Very rare Japanese Edition out of print.
Highly Recommended

01 – Seagull
02 – Need Your Love So Bad
03 – Rocky Mountain Way / Black Velvet
04 – Burning My Heart Down / Don’t Stop / Get Back
05 – Blood And Gasoline
06 – Superstition
07 – Heard It Through The Grapevine / Stone Fox Chase
08 – Some Kinda’ Wonderful
09 – Midnight Hour / Dancin’ In The Street
10 – Face To Face / Enter Sandman / American Girls / Other Side Of Midnight
11 – Closer To Heaven
12 – Only The Strong Survive
13 – Little Bit Of Love
14 – Rockin’ Me
15 – Tush

Steve Overland – vocals, guitar
Merv Goldsworthy – bass, vocals
Pete Jupp – drums, vocals
Andy Barnett – guitar, vocals
Charlie Olins – keyboards

Out Of Print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.