PAT TRAVERS – Japan SHM-CD remastered collection [5 Discs] Out Of Print

PAT TRAVERS - Japan SHM-CD remastered collection [5 Discs] Out Of Print full

The influential, first albums by legendary PAT TRAVERS were requested by a fellow 0dayrox contributor in its best versions available; these remastered Japanese limited edition on high quality SHM-CD are ones to get (unfortunately out of print).
So here they are; priceless remastered SHM-CD press of ‘Pat Travers’, ‘Makin’ Magic’, ‘Putting It Straight’, ‘Heat in the Street’, and ‘Go for What You Know’.

The Canadian guitarist stormed the rock scene with incendiary performances during the Seventies always featuring a top notch line-up as backing band and pretty much capturing the live effervescence into the studio.
Tommy Aldridge, Carmine Appice, Pat Thrall, future Iron Maiden drummer Nicko McBrain, Clive Edwards, Mick Dyche, Peter “Mars” Cowling, Barry Dunaway, Jerry Riggs, Michael Shrieve, Rodney O’Quinn are some of the noted musicians who have been members of the Pat Travers Band through the years.
Mr. Big’s guitarist Paul Gilbert has referred to Travers as a “guitar god”, and Kirk Hammett of Metallica has cited him as one of his favorite guitar players.

After being part of several bands in his native Canada, at his early twenties Travers moved to London and signed a recording contract with the Polydor label. His self-titled debut album was released in 1976, and featured bassist Peter “Mars” Cowling, who would become a mainstay in Travers’ band for several years.
An appearance on the German TV show Rockpalast made him noticed for the big audiences. This performance showcases an early version of Travers’ band featuring Cowling and drummer Nicko McBrain.

McBrain recorded on the second Travers LP ‘Makin’ Magic’, which is regarded by many of his fans as the best of his early Albums. It’s a harder rocking release than his debut album, featuring the thunderous title track and the classic ‘Rock N Roll Susie’ as well as the blistering ‘Statesboro Blues’.

The same year – remember the days when some artists released two LP’s in a row? – Pat Travers presented ‘Putting It Straight’, which perfectly picks up from where ‘Makin’ Magic’ left off. Having found the hard rockin’ formula that worked, Pat continued to gig hard with his trusty three piece, `Mars’ Cowling and Nicko McBrain making up the numbers admirably.
Guests on the album include Thin Lizzy’s Scott Gorham on ‘Speakeasy’ and Rainbow’s Tony Carey on ‘Off Beat Ride’.
‘Life In London’ affectionate odes to his new home, show an international side to Pat Travers and his work. Next came the conquer of America…

Recorded in Miami, “Heat In The Street” was the fourth Pat Travers album release, and the group’s first to feature new guitarist Pat Thrall and awesome drummer Tommy Aldridge.
Here appears the ‘Americanized’ sound, “Heat In The Street” is one of my Travers’ personal favorites. His guitar styles – bluesy and hard rocking – gelled beautifully; the immaculate harmonizing on such tracks as ‘Prelude’ and ‘One For Me And One For You’ is a joy to the ear.
Actually this is a very easy-going album, meaning all songs have a feel-good mood. Imagine you are on a beach, a hot summer night and partying with friends while listening to “Heat In The Street”.
Aside from the title cut and ‘Go All Night’, the record’s most notable selections are future stage favorites ‘Evie’ and ‘Hammerhead’; the first one being a nasty, full-blooded rocker built around a huge hook, the second one being a breathless instrumental showcase for the octopus-like double-bass drumming of Tommy Aldridge.

Speaking of stage favorites, it was time for a Pat Travers live album. Captured on tour in the US in early 1979 and produced by legend Tom Allom, “Go For What You Know” made Pat Travers a household name in America. It reached platinum status and his version of ‘Boom Boom (Out Go the Lights)’ gave him a Billboard hit single.

PAT TRAVERS - Go For What You Know SHM-CD - front

On “Go For What You Know”, the guitar tandem of Travers and Pat Thrall (who had joined the Pat Travers Band in 1977 and had recorded Heat In The Street with them) bridged the gap between the ‘dramatic changes’ in rock music in the late Seventies: Travers emblematized the blues-rock sound of Sixties and Seventies hard rock, whereas Thrall’s playing represents the newer wave in metal (represented by Eddie Van Halen).
The combining of the two players’ solos during this time showed a unique blend between two generations of hard rockers and, although short-lived, it was extremely exciting.
“Go For What You Know” rocks, and kills.

Pat Travers’ first albums pretty much represents the sound and style evolution of bluesy hard rock from the ’70s to the ’80s.
These bunch of LP’s influenced and shaped the sound of more artists / players than you may think, whose found stardom in the Eighties and beyond. This is Classic Rock at its best.
The remasters on these SHM-CD’s are fortunately ‘old-school’, akin the LP waveform output retaining the original LP’s ‘magic’.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

Universal Music Japan ~ 【UICY-75922 / 6】

Pat Travers [SHM-CD remastered]
01 – Stop And Smile
02 – Feelin’ Right
03 – Magnolia
04 – Makes No Difference
05 – Boom Boom (Out Go The Lights)
06 – Mabellene
07 – Hot Rod Lincoln
08 – As My Life Flies
09 – Medley, Parts 1 & 2

Makin’ Magic [SHM-CD remastered]
01 – Makin’ Magic
02 – Rock ‘N’ Roll Susie
03 – You Don’t Love Me
04 – Stevie
05 – Statesboro Blues
06 – Need Love
07 – Hooked On Music
08 – What You Mean To Me

Putting It Straight [SHM-CD remastered]
01 – Life In London
02 – It Ain’t What It Seems
03 – Speakeasy
04 – Runnin’ From The Future
05 – Lovin’ You
06 – Off Beat Ride
07 – Gettin’ Betta
08 – Dedication

Heat In The Street [SHM-CD remastered]
01 – Heat In The Street
02 – Killer’s Instinct
03 – I Tried To Believe
04 – Hammerhead
05 – Go All Night
06 – Evie
07 – Prelude
08 – One For Me And One For You

Go For What You Know [SHM-CD remastered]
01 – Hooked On Music
02 – Gettin’ Betta
03 – Go All Night
04 – Boom Boom (Out Go The Lights)
05 – Stevie
06 – Makin’ Magic
07 – Heat In The Street
08 – Makes No Difference

Pat Travers – guitar, vocals
Mars Cowling – bass
Pat Thrall – guitar, backing vocals
Tommy Aldridge, Nicko McBrain, Roy Dyke – drums
additional personnel;
Tony Carey – keyboards
Scott Gorham – guitar
Bert Hermiston – saxophone


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.