BLACK LABEL SOCIETY – Sonic Brew (20th Anniversary Blend 5.99 – 5.19) (2019)

BLACK LABEL SOCIETY - Sonic Brew (20th Anniversary Blend 5.99 - 5.19) (2019) full

BLACK LABEL SOCIETY will release “Sonic Brew – 20th Anniversary Blend 5.99 – 5.19”, a ‘re-imagined’ version of their 1999 debut, Sonic Brew, on May 17. In conjunction with the release, the band has announced the “20 Years of Sonic Brewtality Tour,” a new 2019 North American outing.
Said Black Label Society leader Zakk Wylde of Sonic Brew; “The original recording back in 1997 was mastered with high volume, alcohol and dance. We went in and worked off the existing performances and focused on the high volume and dance while replacing the booze with viagra and anabolic steroids.”

At the tender age of 21, now-iconic axeman Zakk Wylde burst onto the metal scene in a major way when Ozzy Osbourne plucked him from relative obscurity in New Jersey and enlisted the young shredder as the lead guitarist for his solo band.
Wylde expertly stepped up to the occasion, co-writing and performing on Osbourne’s hit 1988 album No Rest for the Wicked.

Wylde’s Les Paul-wielding Randy Rhoads–inspired style — boasting heavy-as-hell tones, uncanny lead-guitar skills and a signature use of pinch-harmonics — made him a core-component to Ozzy’s sound on subsequent albums (including 1991’s massive No More Tears, 1995’s Ozzmosis, 2007’s Black Rain and more), and a recurring member of Osbourne’s solo touring band for the next three decades.

In 1999 Wylde unleashed his own project on the world with the release of Black Label Society’s debut full-length Sonic Brew. The record not only showcased Wylde’s fuzzed-out, distorted Southern-rock tinged riffs — as well as a hefty amount of shredding — it also revealed the guitarist as a capable singer and frontman.
Sonic Brew kicked off two decades of eclectic BLS offerings, which include more than 10 albums that reflect Wylde’s impressive creative range (from heavy to mellow to somber) and often irreverent sense of humor.

To celebrate two decades of their “brewtality,” Wylde and Black Label Society are re-releasing this special “re-blended” version of their debut album. Officially titled Sonic Brew – 20th Anniversary Blend 5.99 – 5.19, the album contains two bonus tracks, a really beautiful piano version of “Spoke in the Wheel,” and an acoustic version of “Black Pearl.”

01 – Bored to Tears
02 – The Rose Petalled Garden
03 – Hey You
04 – Born to Lose
05 – Peddlers of Death
06 – Mother Mary
07 – Beneath the Tree
08 – Low Down
09 – T.A.Z.
10 – Lost My Better Half
11 – Black Pearl
12 – World of Trouble
13 – Spoke in the Wheel
14 – The Beginning… at Last
Bonus Tracks:
15 – Black Pearl (Unplugged)
16 – Spoke in the Wheel (Unplugged)

Zakk Wylde – vocals, guitars, bass guitar, piano
Phil Ondich – drums
Mike Inez – bass guitar


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.