SOTO – Origami [Digipak +1] (2019)

SOTO - Origami [Digipak +1] front

SOTO, the group lead by acclaimed vocalist and current Sons Of Apollo frontman Jeff Scott Soto (ex Yngwie Malmsteen / Talisman / Journey, TSO, W.E.T.), return with their third album and new record label debut “Origami”, which showcases 10 tracks (plus a bonus on this digipak version) of modern, melodic and highly versatile Hard Rock with addictive songwriting and an infectious level of catchiness.

SOTO is the vehicle for Jeff Scott Soto to show his versatility. While his solo albums are pure melodic hard rock, his work with Sons Of Apollo go for progressive. SOTO mix both, yet with a heavier approach and a more modern edge.
“HyperMania” opens the album with its catchy refrain and punchy chorus, then title track “Origami” is the heaviest on the CD, Jeff’s impressive vocals make the song more than just a shred-fest.

Track 3 “BeLie” is completely different, showcasing the band’s skills. It’s a darker midtempo with a Queensryche atmosphere with expansive vocals and a great showcase for the band’s expert and precise instrumentation.
“World Gone Colder” is a winner, a driving hard rocker with great guitar work and Jeff giving a free lesson on how to sing this type of songs. “Detonate” is pretty progressive, yet catchy and melodic, featuring a superb bass guitar work by original bassist David Z who passed away in an accident while recording the album.

Do you need some melodic hard rock in the classic Jeff Scott Soto style? The album, as said, it’s varied, and “Torn” brings to mind his solo records and with Talisman. There’s a sweet melody, keyboards, a great guitar solo and Jeff’s soaring pipes.
And for even more contrast – or variation if you like – check out the rockin’ funkness of “AfterGlow”, similar to Extreme not only for the rhythm but also the harmonies.

“Origami” is easily the best SOTO album to date, and one of the best where Jeff Scott Soto has been involved. And that’s saying a lot.
Original, inventive, varied, these are some of the best words to describe this impressive new SOTO record. A band lead by terrific vocalist, but one which sounds and feels like a real unit, a ‘real’ band.


  1. HyperMania
  2. Origami
  3. BeLie
  4. World Gone Colder
  5. Detonate
  6. Torn
  7. Dance With The Devil
  8. AfterGlow
  9. Vanity Lane
  10. Give In To Me
  11. KMAG (bonus track)

Jeff Scott Soto – Vocals
Jorge Salan – Guitar
Tony Dickinson – Bass
BJ – Keyboards / Guitar
Edu Cominato – Drums


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.