NITRATE – Open Wide (2019)

NITRATE - Open Wide (2019) full

Hot on the heels of last year’s pretty awesome debut album ‘Real World’, NITRATE are back with album number two titled “Open Wide”, again planty of classy Melodic Rock / AOR sounds. The core duo of Nick Hogg (bass, keyboards) and Midnite City’s Rob Wylde (guitars, keys) – who together penned all the songs – are joined by drummer Pete Newdeck (who played on the debut) and new boys, Vega guitarist Marcus Thurston and vocalist Philip Lindstrand (Find Me).
Harem Scarem’s Harry Hess again aided on the mastering of the album.

‘You Want You Got It’ and ‘Night Time City’ are pure ear candy melodic tunes embellished by class guitar work and harmonies, whilst ‘Bad Girls’ is a stonker of a tune with plenty of keys.
‘I Don’t Want To Live’ rocks via a sharp riff and a pretty busy intrumentation. Vocalist Philip Lindstrand suits the music perfectly, both on the rockers and the ballads like ‘In The Night’ – a very Bon Jovi sounding tune.

On some songs Nitrate go further, even with a little of Ameircan ’80s glam / MR in the style of Danger Danger or the aforementioned Bon Jovi.
‘Only A Heartache Away’ has that type of musical cadence, building the intensity during the verses and ecploding at the chorus. It reminds of a Marcello/Vestry song. Then ‘Never Surrender’ y ‘Heartbreak Suicide’ don’t slow down an inch, both solid rockers driven by a strong rhythm section and including cool solos.

While “Open Wide” isn’t as instant as Nitrate’s debut, on the other hand the songs here are better written / arranged, and again Nitrate successfully tap into the classic ’80s Melodic Hard Rock sound with AOR touches. It’s that classic sound / style we all love.
HIGHLY Recommended


1. You Want Ir, You Got It
2. Night Time City
3. Only A Heartache Away
4. Heart Go Wild
5. I Don’t Want To Live
6. Never Surrender
7. Heartbreak Suicide
8. In The NIght
9. Bad Girls
10. Shot In The Dark
11. Waiting On You (Lindstrand mix) – Bonus

Nick Hogg – bass, keyboards
Rob Wylde (Midnite City) – guitars, keyboards, bkg vocals
Pete Newdeck (drums)
Marcus Thurston (Vega) – guitars
Philip Lindstrand (Find Me) – vocals
mastered by Harry Hess


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.