STEVIE D. feat COREY GLOVER – Torn From The Pages (2019)

STEVIE D. feat COREY GLOVER - Torn From The Pages (2019) full

STEVIE D. feat COREY GLOVER, a musical partnership by producer and multi-instrumentalist Stephen DeAcutis aka Stevie D and legendary singer Corey Glover (Living Colour), will release their first album together “Torn From The Pages” on September 6th worldwide through Mighty Music.

“Stevie D”, has been working professionally as a guitar player, mixer, producer, multi-instrumentalist, engineer, writer, and performer since the early 80s. During that time, he honed his production and mixing skills working with such studio heavyweights as Andy Wallace (Rage Against the Machine), Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith), and Max Norman (Ozzy Osbourne), amassing credits that include such acts as Vanilla Fudge, Vinnie Moore, Pat Travers, Carmine and Vinny Appice, Punky Meadows, and Cyndi Lauper to name a few.
I think Glover need no introduction, his vocals are strong as ever, and here showcases a grandiose diversity.

On the album there’s a musical work that covers an ample range of genres, but the main guiding line is near Classic Rock and Hard Rock, timeless, 70s / 80s / 90s inspired just with a modern production outfit.
And production is top class, potent, clear, with a perfect instrument separation and a biting mix / mastering.
As said, musically varied as a whole, however cohesive and strong.

Among my favorite numbers there’s the fire-spit hard rocker “Your Time Has Run Out” with its balance between melodies and technique on the guitars plus Glover’s powerful shouts, the weaving modern yet almost catchy “Wake-Up Call” and “Final Resting Place”, and the bluesy Classic Rock essence of “Haunted” where Corey’s voice is amazing, and even more contrasting with these female choirs.
We find tons of groove on “Soul to Stone”, and there’s even space for modern Blues / Jazz noir on the song “This is the Time”.
These are some examples, although the whole album is excellent.

Stevie D & Corey Glover are more than capable musicians, but that’s does not guarantee that things got glued. Well, “Torn From The Pages” resulted in a terrific album full of substance, inspired songwriting & performances, and superb production / mix.
Let’s call it Classic Rock, but this talented pair aren’t restrained at all, in fact, this album is a killer compendium from the last forty years or so in contemporary Rock-related music.

Don’t let this one slip you by, as there is a lot of new music out there and in a world of the increasing dominance of streaming and single releases, it’s gratifying to have an album like this to capture and engage the listener’s attention.
HIGHLY Recommended


01. Your Time Has Run Out
02. Wake-Up Call
03. Final Resting Place
04. Strung Out
05. Fay
06. Haunted
07. Now or Never
08. Outta My Head
09. Soul to Stone
10. Alone Again
11. This is the Time
12. Final Resting Place (Reprise)
13. Face Plant

Corey Glover – Vocals
Stephen DeAcutis – All Instruments



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.