PLANET 3 (Jay Graydon / Clif Magness) – Music From The Planet [AOR Heaven Classix remaster]

PLANET 3 - Music From The Planet [AOR Heaven Classix remaster] full

Rightly considered as a classic in the AOR genre, it’s great to see that the excellent German label AOR Heaven has decided to remaster / reissue PLANET 3 “Music From The Planet” within the framework of their more than interesting ‘AOR Heaven Classix‘ series.

Planet 3 gathered the talents of top guitarist / composer Jay Graydon, stellar vocalist Clif Magness, and keyboardist / genius producer & songwriter Glen Ballard.
Mainman however was Jay Graydon, who became famous as a session guitarist but during the ’80s started to write songs of his own. The #1 hit “After The Love Has Gone” – a track he co-wrote with David Foster for the band Earth, Wind & Fire – marked his breakthrough as a songwriter. He got his first Grammy for it and later would follow more.

PLANET 3 - Music From The Planet [AOR Heaven Classix remaster] booklet

Another milestone is Graydon’s career was the self-titled album from Airplay, the essential AOR project that he shared with the aforementioned David Foster and Tommy Funderburk.

With Planet 3 he ended up in a real supergroup, flanked by the super talented writers / musicians Clif Magness and Glen Ballard. Quality was written in the stars and with highly commercial tracks like “From The Beginning”, “Insincere” and “The Day The Earth Stood Still”, this was exactly what we got.
Even today, more than twenty years after its original release, this is one of those albums that hasn’t lost any of its initial impact. In fact, it’s one of the best sounding Wescoast / AOR albums ever recorded.

PLANET 3 - Music From The Planet [AOR Heaven Classix remaster] back

FYI, this remastered “Music From The Planet AOR Heaven Classix” comes with the song “Dreamers” instead of the original 10th track ‘Ever After Love’, which according to Graydon shouldn’t have been on the original tracklist anyway.
Described by many as ‘Chicago meets Def Leppard’, if this album is missing in your collection, you are indeed missing an essential piece of AOR history. It’s nothing less than a jewel.


01 – Born To Love
02 – From The Beginning
03 – Insincere
04 – Criminal
05 – I Don’t Want To Say Goodnight
06 – Welcome To Love
07 – The Day The Earth Stood Still
08 – Only Your Eyes
09 – Modern Girl
10 – Dreamers

Clif Magness: vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards
Jay Graydon: lead and rhythm guitar, keyboards
Glen Ballard: keyboards, synths, programming
Bill Cantos: vocals, keyboards
Pat Mastelotto, Tris Imboden: drums



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. bradipo says:

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.