THE LAZYS – Tropical Hazards [+4 extras] (2018)

THE LAZYS - Tropical Hazards [+4 extras] (2018) full

Tropical Hazards” is the second full length album by THE LAZYS, a high-octane rock ‘n roll riot combo now established in Canada but born in Australia. These guys are all about traditional hard rock – now tagged as classic rock – with a bluesy foundation yet highly melodic.
The Lazys have been paying their dues for some time now (since apparently 2006) releasing several EPs and a self-managed full length three years ago. Now “Tropical Hazards” will be released via Golden Robot Records both in America and Europe.
There’s no question the band is influenced by Australia’s greatest rock act ever — AC/DC — but on “Tropical Hazards”, The Lazys have settled into a bit of a formula that works really well for them.

You have the screaming but raspy vocals of singer Leon Harris, you have some big time background vocals, some great yet at times simple guitar riffs and mainly upbeat faster paced material, but also two ballads in “Young Modern Lightning” and “Somebody’s Daughter”, plus several melodic twists in the music.
There’s only 10 tracks on the CD to avoid filler, and The Lazys simply deliver one zinger after another.

Usually, if an album has two to three really great songs, you can’t ask for much more. After all, classic acts such as Iron Maiden, Kiss, AC/DC, etc would likely be pleased with one really memorable song from their latest album to include into their live set.
In The Lazys‘ case, there are five tracks in this new album that I would consider in the phenomenal category in terms of engagement, great melodies and overall catchiness.

The first four tracks consisting of the first single “Nothing But Trouble,” the slide guitar filled “Little Miss Crazy,” the peppy “Picture Thieves” and the awesome story telling “Half Mast Blues” as well as the album closer “Take Back The Town” can each give me goose bumps at any given time.

THE LAZYS - Tropical Hazards (2018) inside

The rest of the tracks on “Tropical Hazards” are also solid, even the aforementioned ballad “Somebody’s Daughter”, which not only provide balance to the album but also proves The Lazys are much, much more than a AC/DC like, riff based band.

While many readers of this blog seem to love this kind of classic hard rock rich in riffage, others opt for more melodic material. Well, “Tropical Hazards” blend both, ‘it’s only rock n’ roll’, but very melodic and with lots of swagger, timeless enjoyable Rock music.
Highly Recommended


01 – Nothing but Trouble
02 – Little Miss Crazy
03 – Picture Thieves
04 – Half Mast Blues
05 – Young Modern Lightning
06 – One’s Too Many
07 – Louder Than Youth
08 – Somebody’s Daughter
09 – Can’t Kill the Truth
10 – Take Back the Town

Leon Harrison – Vocals
Matty Morris – Lead Guitar
Glenn Williams – Bass
Liam Shearer – Rhythm Guitar
Andy Nielsen – Drums


Pre Order:

1 Response

  1. Joe Satch says:

    Thanks! This is a real find and for all the music you post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.