VOLSTER – Arise (2020)

VOLSTER - Arise (2020) full

The story of VOLSTER’s formation spans almost 25 years and they are preparing to release what is to be only their second album “Arise” on November 13th. The Swedish hard rock band started with a four song demo recorded in 1996. The writing team of guitarist and vocalist Ulf Andersson and bassist Henrik Lundberg first met as members of the melodic hard rock band MASQUERADE, active in the late ’80s to early 2000s.
Andersson left the band early on for other projects but Lundberg would continue with the band for a couple albums until the band ultimately broke up. Lundberg sought out other projects after the breakup and eventually released as self-titled with heavy metal band HOUSE OF HEAVY in 2009.

Then in 2013 – 17 years after recording that 4 song demo in 1996 – they duo decided to pick up where they left and start a band to perform the songs they wrote and write some new ones as well. They released their debut album “Perfect Storm” in 2018 with – at the time – a full lineup with a drummer and separate vocalist.

Several line-up changes resulted in the original writing duo being the sole members listed on their follow-up “Arise”. Membership aside, this album continues the beautiful partnership between Andersson and Lundberg that resulted in 2018’s “Perfect Storm”.
With this album, the pair decided to try expanding outside of the genres of American and British melodic rock, blending in elements of AOR and prog rock to create a richer soundscape palette. I am happy to say, it paid off, the album is a monumental achievement in pushing the boundaries of melodic rock.

However, not to get too distracted, the main inspiration of their music still relies on the core elements of strong melodies and fantastically hooky riffs. The album deals with subjects that are very real and grounded like a general reflection on life and the state of the world today.
Unlike their previous album which was co-produced, this time around VOLSTER produced the album themselves and was co-mixed and mastered by Thomas ‘Plec’ Johnsson once again at the The Panic Room Studio in Skovde, Sweden.


01. Revolution
02. Arise
03. Hanging On
04. Come Undone
05. Turn the Tide
06. End of the World
07. Gravity
08. I Wish
09. Follow You
10. Sign of the Times
11. Highroad to Nowhere
12. Till the End of Time

Ulf Andersson (Vocals, Guitars)
Henrik Lundberg (Bass)
Andreas Lagerin (Guitar)
Mattias Eriksson (Drums)


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.