CORY MARKS – Nashville Nights (2021)

CORY MARKS - Nashville Nights (2021) full

Canadian heavy country-rock-metal artist CORY MARKS had a wild year in 2020, with all of his big album release plans getting cancelled because of the pandemic. Never to be disheartened, Marks immediately took to bi-weekly streams and all sorts of other projects to keep fans engaged.
Still, without a proper tour for his stupendous debut CD “Who I Am“ under his belt, it’s understandable that he wasn’t ready to release a second album just yet. However, fans have been given a treat with the upcoming “Nashville Nights”, which features a new stuff and a variety of alternate versions of songs from the debut.
There isn’t anyone doing it like this in country music or rock, a cool mix or blend of country, rock, and metal.

The CD opens with Cory’s new song ‘In Me I Trust’, perhaps his most personal song to date, showcasing his excellent pipes as well.
Then we have the “normal” version of Marks‘ biggest hit, ‘Outlaws & Outsiders’ which is known for originally featuring Mick Mars (MÖTLEY CRÜE) among other guests. This version is certainly less rowdy and bombastic than the original, but this stripped-down version might actually appeal a bit more to the ear. This version is also notable for being used in the movie ‘Snobabies’.

The next three tracks are quite familiar from Marks‘ debut: “Good to Be Us,” a sweet, upbeat romantic song about when things are going well in a relationship; the explicit version of “Keep Doin’ What I Do,” which is one of several personal favorites from “Who I Am” due to its positive energy and empowering (if party-oriented) vibe… and hey, I’m always down to throw some curses around; and of course one of Marks‘ popular singles, “Devil’s Grin,” which is oh so relatable lyrically – everyone has been that guy or known that guy, if you know what I mean.

Finally, the EP wraps up with the live versions of “Blame it On the Double” and “Drive,” which don’t quite feel like live versions because the crowd has been edited out and the music polished down, but you can hear each track sounding a bit different than on the album, hinting that Marks is not a one-trick pony who just repeats his albums live, but rather plays around with the feeling and flow, adding some new flavor to well-loved songs, working as a hint of what is to come once the tours start up again.

While “Nashville Nights” isn’t a proper ‘new’ albums, it is a fine addition to any music collection and for Cory Marks fans, it offers something nice to enjoy and keep up enthusiasm while the world tries to get back to normal.
Highly Recommended


01 – In Me I Trust
02 – Outlaws and Outsiders
03 – Good To Be Us
04 – Keep Doing What I Do
05 – Devil’s Grin
06 – Blame It On The Double (Live)
07 – Drive (Live)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.