KENNY MAC (Lickity Split) – New Cool World [Retrospect Records release]

KENNY MAC - New Cool World [Retrospect Records release] full

Regarded as one of the hottest acts from the 80s underground L.A. Sunset Strip scene, glam hard rockers Lickity Split never got signed. After the group disbanded at the end of the decade, lead singer KENNY MAC would go on to record a solo album full of high energy melodic hard rock complete with strong guitar work and infectious hooks.
Recorded in the very early ’90s, these 12 songs never were released until Retrospect Records released them on CD, titled ”New Cool World”. Still with that US hard rock swagger imprint but much more melodic rock infused, Kenny delivers some enjoyable tunes here, helped by his former Lickity Split bandmates and some friends from the scene.

While some of these tracks are in demo form, the sound quality of these tracks are fine especially the first half of the CD, strong melodic stuff like ‘Let’s Go’, ‘Insatiable’, the dynamic ‘Even Up’, ‘Last Temptation’, and the hot ‘Sex Shuffle’. It’s all cool n’ nice melodious rockin’ material, with Kenny solid vocals and pretty good songwriting regarding the genre.

KENNY MAC (Lickity Split) - New Cool World [Retrospect Records release] back

These tapes circulated among collectors for years but with poor quality. Now are served here on this reissue with noticeable improvement.
Highly Recommended


01 – Insatiable
02 – Let’s Go
03 – Sex Shuffle
04 – Even Up
05 – Last Temptation
06 – All the Way
07 – ”New Cool World”
08 – Run For the Money
09 – Penelope
10 – Desire
11 – Lady Luck
12 – I’m Fallin’

Kenny Mac – vocals, guitar, keys
Micheal Hatcher – guitar, vocals
Chris Hagar – guitar
Melcon Wagner – harmony vocals, keys
Mark Drubay – drums


out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.